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bress@{e.nve.ov In light of the recent announcement from the smartphone
application Lyft that they plan to offer free rides in Brooklyn and Queens

ggnzez}’oe;rs”eet starting on July 11th at 7:00 PM, the New York City Taxi and Limousine

New York, NY 10004 Commission (TLC) reminds its licensees and the public that Lyft’s “ride

share” service is unauthorized in New York City. Lyft has not complied
with TLC’s safety requirements and other licensing criteria to verify the
integrity and qualifications of the drivers or vehicles used in their
service, and Lyft does not hold a license to dispatch cars to pick up
passengers. In keeping with the TLC's priority of protecting public safety
and consumer rights, the agency will be conducting enforcement
operations to ensure compliance with the City’s rules and laws.

The public is reminded that they should not get into a vehicle
without a TLC license, because it has not undergone the rigorous safety
and emissions inspections conducted by the agency to ensure its safety
and fitness for transporting passengers, and its driver has not been
subject to the TLC’s required drug and background checks. TLC
licensees are also monitored on an ongoing basis for both criminal
violations and convictions, as well as for traffic-related violations.
Unsuspecting drivers who sign-up with Lyft are at risk of losing their
vehicles to TLC enforcement action, as well as being subject to fines of
up to $2,000 upon conviction for unlicensed activity.

TLC-licensed drivers are reminded that the New York City
Administrative Code and TLC Rules prohibit them from accepting a for-
hire trip that isn’t dispatched by a licensed base that is held accountable
for the actions of its drivers and affiliated vehicles. TLC-licensed drivers
who accept trip assignments from Lyft — which is not a licensed entity --
are likewise at risk of losing their TLC driver licenses and vehicles to TLC
enforcement action, as well as being subject to fines of up to $2,000
upon conviction for unlicensed activity.
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