Timeline: History of Community Boards


1951 - First Community Planning Councils established by the Manhattan Borough President.

1963 - 62 Community Planning Boards established by the New York City Charter.

1968 - Local Law 39 expands the powers of Community Planning Boards.

1975 - 59 Community Boards established by the Charter Revision Commission.

1989 - Charter Revision Commission changes the structure of City government and increases the role of Community Boards in environmental review process.

Currently, there are 59 Community Boards:

  • 12 in the Bronx
  • 18 in Brooklyn
  • 12 in Manhattan
  • 14 in Queens
  • 3 in Staten Island

(Maximum of 250,000 people per Community District).

  Email a Friend

  Printer Version  Printer Friendly Format  
Site Tools
Text SizeSmall Fontmedium FontLarge Font

Printer Friendly

Translate this page
News Flash
Collection Schedule


(Example: 46-11 104th Street)