New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

3009 Certificate of Exemption from Withholding
New York State ¢ New York City ¢ Yonkers

IT-2104-E

This certificate will expire on April 30, 2010.

meet all of the following conditions:

¢ you did not have a New York income tax liability for 2008; and
e you do not expect to have a New York income tax liability for 2009.

To claim exemption from withholding for New York State personal income tax (and New York City and Yonkers personal income tax, if applicable), you must

e you must be under age 18, or over age 65, or a full-time student under age 25; and

If you do not meet all of the above conditions, stop; you cannot claim exemption from withholding.

Filing status: Mark an X in only one box

A Single |:| B Married |:|

C Qualifying widow(er) |:|

with dependent child, or

First name and middle initial Last name Social security number
()
o
2 .
| Mailing address (number and street or rural route) Apartment number Date of birth (mm-dd-yyyy)
o
=
.D:_ City, village, or post office State ZIP code Are you a full-time student?
Yes ] Mo

head of household with
qualifying person

| certify that the information on this form is correct and that, for the year 2009, | expect

to qualify for exemption from withholding of New York State income tax under

section 671(a)(3) of the Tax Law. | will notify my employer within 10 days of any change
requiring revocation of the exemption from withholding as explained in the instructions.

Employee’s signature Date

Employer name and address (Employer: complete this section only if you must
send a copy to the NYS Tax Department; see instructions)

Empl identificati b
mployer identification number Mark an X if a newly I:l

hired employee

Instructions

Employee

Who qualifies — You may claim exemption from withholding if: (1) you are
under age 18, over age 65, or a full-time student under age 25, and (2) you
had no New York income tax liability for 2008, and (3) expect none for the
year 2009. (For this purpose, you have a tax liability if your return shows tax
before the allowance of any credit for income tax withheld.)

If you meet these conditions, file this certificate, Form IT-2104-E, with your
employer. Otherwise, your employer must withhold New York State income tax
(and New York City and Yonkers personal income tax, if applicable) from your
wages. Do not send this certificate to the Tax Department.

Generally, as a resident, you are required to file a New York State income
tax return if you are required to file a federal income tax return, or if your
federal adjusted gross income plus your New York additions is more than
$4,000, regardless of your filing status. However, if you are single and can
be claimed as a dependent on another person’s federal return, you must
file a New York State return if your federal adjusted gross income plus your
New York additions is more than $3,000.

If you are a nonresident and have income from New York sources, you
must file a New York return if the sum of your federal adjusted gross income
and New York additions to income is more than your New York standard
deduction.

A penalty of $500 may be imposed for furnishing false information that
decreases your withholding amount.

When to claim exemption from withholding — File this certificate
with your employer if you meet all the conditions listed above. You must
file a new certificate each year if you wish to continue to claim the
exemption.

Liability for estimated tax — If, as a result of this exemption certificate,
your employer does not withhold income tax from your wages and you later
fail to qualify for exemption from tax, you may be required to pay estimated
tax and be subject to penalty if it is not paid. For further information, see
Form IT-2105, Estimated Income Tax Payment Voucher for Individuals.

Multiple employers — If you have more than one employer, you may
claim exemption from withholding with each employer as long as your total
expected income will not cause you to incur a New York income tax liability
for the year 2009 and you had no liability for 2008.

Revocation by employee — You must revoke this exemption certificate
(1) within 10 days from the day you expect to incur a New York income
tax liability for the year 2009, or (2) on or before December 1, 2009, if you
expect to incur a tax liability for 2010.

If you are required to revoke this certificate, if you no longer meet the age
requirements for claiming exemption, or if you want income tax withheld
from your pay (because, for example, you expect your income to exceed
$3,000), you must file Form IT-2104, Employee’s Withholding Allowance
Certificate, with your employer. Follow the instructions on Form IT-2104 to
determine the correct number of allowances to claim for withholding tax
purposes.

Filing status — Mark an X in one box on Form IT-2104-E that shows your
present filing status for federal purposes.

Need help? — If you need help completing this form, call toll free
1 800 225-5829 (for employees) or 1 877 698-2910 (for employers). From
areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Employer

Keep this certificate with your records. If an employee who claims exemption
from withholding on Form IT-2104-E usually earns more than $200 per
week, you must send a copy of that employee’s Form IT-2104-E to: NYS Tax
Department, Income Tax Audit Administrator, Withholding Certificate
Coordinator, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

The Tax Department will not accept this form if it is incomplete. We will
review these certificates and notify you of any adjustments that must be
made.

Due dates for sending certificates received from employees who claim
exemption and earn more than $200 per week are:

Quarter Due date Quarter Due date
January — March April 30 July — September October 31
April = June July 31 October — December January 31

Revocation by employer — You must revoke this exemption within 10
days if, on any day during the calendar year, the date of birth stated on the
certificate filed by the employee indicates the employee no longer meets
the age requirements for exemption. The revocation must be in the form of a
written notice to the employee.

New hires — If you are submitting a copy of this form because you are
choosing to use this form to comply with New York State’s New Hire
Reporting Program, mark an X in the box and mail a copy of the completed
form, within 20 days of hiring, to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT, NEW HIRE NOTIFICATION
PO BOX 15119, ALBANY NY 12212-5119

To report newly-hired employees online go to www.nynewhire.com.

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but
not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and
1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when
authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as
well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain
state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of
the effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other purposes
authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties,
or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and Data
Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone
1800 225-5829. From areas outside the United States and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800.
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