Printer Friendly Format Email a Friend

PR- 259-06
July 24, 2006


Spanish Language Television Stars Fernando Arau, Cristina Saralegui, Maria Elena Salinas, Lucero, Saul Lisazo and Jessi Losada Will Receive Prestigious Emmy Awards

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg and The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) President & CEO Peter Price today announced that New York City will host this year’s “Leaders of Spanish Language Television” Awards.  The Trustees of the National Television Academy award the Emmys to six Spanish television stars who represent the best in Spanish language television news, talk shows, novelas and sports programming.  This year’s awards will be presented on October 19, 2006 at the Time Life Building in Manhattan.  The City of San Antonio, Texas hosted last year’s awards.  Internationally acclaimed sportscaster Andres Cantor, William Morris Agency’s SVP and Managing Director of Miami Operations, Raul Mateu and NYC Big Events President & CEO and the City’s Chief Marketing Officer Maureen J. Reidy joined the Mayor at City Hall for this announcement. 

“We are proud to host these international television stars that represent the best in Spanish Language programming,” said Mayor Bloomberg.  “New York is the home to the world’s biggest media companies, the nation’s second largest Spanish language television market and the most diverse Latin population of any City in the world.  Bringing the ‘Latin Emmys’ to the world’s biggest stage will help us to continue to make nuestra ciudad el epicentro de la industria del espectáculo y los medios latinos.”

“Spanish language television is an important part of the television landscape, with close to 40 million viewers nationwide and growing,” said Peter Price.  “There is no better place to recognize this dynamic television programming than New York City, where there is a large and vibrant Spanish speaking community and one of the largest fan bases for Spanish language television in our country. Having this event in New York City is a milestone in the development of the National Television Academy’s new recognition of Spanish language television.”

Mayor Bloomberg and Andres Cantor, who is considered the “voice of soccer” in the United States and last year’s honoree at Leaders in Spanish Language Television, announced the six honorees.
This year’s recipients of the “Latin Emmys” will be: Fernando Arau, popular morning show host of Univision’s “Despierta America”; Saul Lisazo, a veteran star of  novelas, currently seen in Telemundo’s “Tierra de Pasiones”; Telemundo’s highly rated sports anchor Jessi Losada; Lucero, star of the Televisa’s telenovela, “Alborada”; Maria Elena Salinas, co-anchor of the most watched Spanish language nightly newscast “Noticiero Univision,” and Cristina Saralegui, host of Univision’s popular primetime talk show, “Christina.”

“We are thrilled to welcome this distinguished group of Latin Broadcasters to the Big Apple where more than two million New Yorkers can trace their roots to nearly every part of Latin America,” said Maureen J. Reidy.  “The leaders in Spanish language television know that having their event in New York City will amplify their message around the world.”

“This year’s honorees represent the very best in Spanish language television,” said Raul Mateu.  “They are extraordinary television professionals who have devoted their careers to exceptional work in serving the Spanish speaking community. To have them honored in New York City, where one out of every four residents is Latino and where they have many loyal viewers, is really spectacular.”

The prestigious committee who chose this year’s Emmy recipients was populated by professionals in related fields, including  Andres Cantor, Sports Anchor, Telemundo; Maria Celeste Arraras, Host and Managing Editor, Telemundo’s “Al Rojo Vivo con Maria Celeste”; Gilbert Davila, Vice President, Multicultural Marketing, The Walt Disney Company; Jackie Hernandez-Fallous, Publisher, People En Español; Mario “Don Francisco” Kreutzberger, Host, Univision’s “Sabado Gigante”; Jorge Ramos, Univision News Anchor; Manny Vidal, President & Chief Executive Officer, The Vidal Partnership; and Antoinette Zel, Senior Executive Vice President, Network Strategy, Telemundo.
The 2006 Leaders in Spanish Television awards is being sponsored by AT&T, Moet Hennessy and People En Español.


Stu Loeser/Silvia Alvarez   (212) 788-2958

Kimberly Spell   (NYC Big Events)
(646) 587-5633

Cheryl Daly (National Television Academy)   (212) 484-9446

More Resources
Watch the video in 56k or 300k