Archives of the Mayor's Press Office

Wednesday, March 8, 2000

Release #088-00

Contact: Sunny Mindel/Michael Anton (212) 788-2958
  Cathie Behrend, Department of Cultural Affairs (212) 643-7791


Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani tonight announced the winners of the 1999 Mayor's Awards for Excellence in Science and Technology at a reception held at Gracie Mansion. The awards recognize the important role members of the science and engineering communities play in the success of the City.

Joining the Mayor for the presentation were Schuyler Chapin, Commissioner of the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; Rodney Nichols, President and CEO of the New York Academy of Sciences; William Green, Chairperson of the New York Academy of Sciences; and Mr. Bill Rudin.

"It is my honor to congratulate the recipients of the 1999 Mayor's Awards for Excellence in Science and Technology," Mayor Giuliani said. "Thanks to these men and women, who represent some of the finest scientific minds our City and our society have to offer, hundreds of thousand of lives have been changed for the better and millions more will be affected.

"The scientific and technological research applications that are discovered and perfected in New York City constitute not only some of our greatest commercial exports but some of our greatest contributions to the world," the Mayor continued. "Those contributions are precisely the goal of the Biomedical and Biotechnology Task Force I announced two years ago. Our goal is to help strengthen collaborative research developments throughout our City, recruit more world-class researchers to New York, and focus our efforts to promote and expand biotechnology business development in the Capital of the World. Finally, I would like to note the extraordinary achievements of former Mayor's Awards recipients. Dr. Gunter Blobel, a 1997 Mayor's Award Winner, went on to win the Noble Prize. And 1993 Mayor's Award Winner Dr. David Ho was named Time Magazine's 1996 Man of the Year.

This year's winners of the Mayor's Awards are:

The following two categories are new to the Mayor's Awards this year:

Under the leadership of President Rodney Nichols, the New York Academy of Sciences administered the nomination, evaluation and review process for the awards, in close partnership with Commissioner Schuyler G. Chapin and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs. Dr. Fleur Strand, Dr. Cathleen Morawetz, Dr. George Bugliarello, and Dr. Alan Friedman directed the Academy's four review panels.

Each year, nominations are received through a comprehensive nominating process that includes outreach to all sectors in the City's scientific communities. Individuals may be nominated for either a special achievement or a lifetime body of work in the five awards categories: Technology, Biological/Medical Sciences and Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences, Public Understanding of Science and Technology, and Young Investigator. Candidates must live or work in New York City. The Mayor chooses winners from a list of finalists submitted by NYAS.

Tonight's event at Gracie Mansion was underwritten by The New York Information Technology Center at 55 Broad Street, and by the Rudin Family.


Go to Press Releases | Giuliani Archives | Mayor's Office | Home Page
Contact Us | FAQs | Privacy Statement | Site Map