What should | do if | am unable
to appear for the hearing?

You can reschedule the hearing if you call
at least five business days before the first
scheduled hearing date. Please call the
Tribunal at

(718) 391-5718.

If it is less than 5 days before the scheduled
hearing date, you must appear before an
ALJ at the Tribunal office and ask the ALJ
for an adjournment. The adjournment will
only be granted if the ALJ determines that
you have a good reason.

What should | do if | missed
the hearing date?

If you did not appear on the hearing date,
you may have been found guilty by default.

If you were found guilty, you have two (2)
options. Pay the fine, or request a new
hearing by filing a Motion to Vacate.

Long Island City
32-02 Queens Blvd. 3rd Floor
Long Island City, NY 11101

8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

Lower Manhattan

33 Beaver Street 19" Floor
New York, NY 10004

8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday excluding holidays.

JFK Airport
JFK Hearing Office
Building #14
Jamaica, NY 11430

7:30 AM to 3:15 PM
Monday, Tuesday & Thursday excluding holidays.

Staten Island
350 St. Marks Place, Main Floor
Staten Island, NY 10302

9:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Tuesday, Thursday & Friday excluding holidays.
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A Division of the Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings

What is the OATH
Taxi & Limousine Tribunal?

The OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal is a
division of the NYC Office of Administrative
Trials and Hearings (OATH). This court
holds hearings for summonses issued by
the NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission
(TLC). OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal
judges are independent decision-makers
who will hear your case.

Why did | get a Summons?

The OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal
does not issue summonses. If you need
more information, call the TLC.

Your License

OATH is separate from the TLC. The TLC is
the agency responsible for enforcing rules and
issuing licenses. For questions about your
license, please contact the TLC.



What can | do if | get
a summons?

Admit & Pay the Fine

» If a specific fine is designated on the front

of the ticket, check the “guilty” box on the
back of the ticket, follow the instructions and
mail it with your payment within 14 days after
receiving the summons.

* You may also pay in person at the Long Island
City, Lower Manhattan or JFK location. Pay
by cash, money order, credit cards, or
debit card. The JFK Tribunal will not
accept credit or debit cards.

» If your summons indicates “personal

appearance required” you may not plead guilty
by mail and you must come to the Tribunal.

Appear for a Hearing in Person

« Come on the date, time and location listed
on the ticket.

Services Bureau

24-55 BQE West
Woodside, New York 11377

gx’:\;il::i'::s'"e +1 212 227 6324 tel

License # xxxxxx Summons # PVXXXXXX Issued: 10/28/2011

RESPONDENT'S NAME

RESPONDENT'S ADDRESS

RESPONDENT'S CITY STATE ZIP

You Must Appear for a Hearing: *

Where: OATH Taxi and Limousine Tribunal, 3rd Fl, 32-02 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, New York 11101
When: 12/12/2011 at 11:00 AM

» Please bring photo identification and a copy
of your ticket.

* Non TLC licensees must appear personally.

What should | expect if | choose
to come to a hearing?

You do not need an attorney, you can represent
yourself. However, you may hire an attorney or an
authorized representative if you choose.

A TLC representative may be present at the hearing.

* The hearing will take place in a hearing room
before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). The
ALJ has the authority to decide whether or not
you are guilty of the charge.

* You may bring witnesses to testify for you. You
may also bring any papers that you want the
judge to consider.

»  After the hearing, you will be directed to the
waiting room where you will receive the ALJ’s

decision.

Interpretation services are provided free of charge,
in over 150 languages, or you may bring a translator
if you prefer. Some of the languages are:
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Points

The ALJ must assess points when required by law.
TLC licensees are assessed points when found in
violation of certain violations of TLC Rules.

* Points are added to a licensee’s record using
the date of the violation, not the hearing date.

*  Accumulation of 6 or more points during a 15
month period may result in the suspension of
your license by TLC.

*  Accumulation of 10 or more points during a 15
month period may result in revocation of your
license by TLC.

What should | do if | disagree with
the judge’s decision?

*  You can file an appeal within 30 days of the

decision.

*  You do not have to pay the fine until a decision

on the appeal is made.

*  Appeals may be submitted using the OATH Taxi

& Limousine Tribunal Appeal Form. The appeal
form is available at Tribunal locations and on
the OATH website in the Taxi & Limousine
Tribunal section.
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32-02 Queens Boulevard, 3rd Floor
Long Island City, NY 11101

OATH Taxi & Limousine Tribunal
APPEAL FORM

® Use this form only if you want to appeal the decision from your hearing.

@ |f you accept the judge's decision, you should not submit this form.

® |f you disagree with an Inquest Determination, you must file a Motion to Vacate form.
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPEAL

For more information about appeals visit the
OATH web site at www.nyc.gov/oath




