New York City Police Department

Translate this Page
School Safety Division



The mission of the School Safety Division is to provide a safe environment, conducive to learning, where students and faculty can be free from hostility and disruptions which can negatively impact the educational process.


The New York City Board of Education, Division of School Safety merged with the New York City Police Department on December 20, 1998. This merger represents an historic partnership. The NYPD School Safety Division accomplishes its mission with the support of other Department units which have vital resources, knowledge and expertise.

The School Safety Division is commanded by Assistant Chief Brian Conroy, who is assisted by Deputy Chief Vincent Coogan, Executive Officer; Inspector Manuel De la Rosa, Adjutant; Ramon F. Garcia Jr., Director, Patrol Operations; Irving Rosenstein, Director, Administrative Operations and Louise Kelly Johnson, Deputy Director of School Safety Borough Commands. The School Safety Division has over 5,000 school safety agents and more than 200 uniformed police officers covering over 1.1 million students in the New York City public school system throughout the five boroughs.

The School Safety Division is comprised of four areas of management: Patrol Operations, Support Services, Administrative Operations and Investigations, all of which report to the Commanding Officer of School Safety Division.

In addition to these four areas of management, staff support is provided by the following organizational components: Field Support Unit, Special Services Unit, Motor Pool Unit, Supply / Reproduction, Personnel Unit, Payroll Unit, SPO Processing Unit, School Safety Plan Unit, Community Outreach Unit, Operations Center / Data Unit, Training Unit, TRACK Unit, Uniformed Task Force, and nine Patrol Borough Commands.

For more information on a career as a School Safety Agent, please visit: