New York City Police Department

Property Clerk | Home
Overview

The Property Clerk is located at Police Headquarters (1 Police Plaza).

Property Clerk Division

11 Front Street
Brooklyn, N.Y. 11201
Phone: (718) 624-8789
Fax: (718) 624-8791 

Inspector Thomas J. Scollan, Commanding Officer
Captain Timothy Hollywood, Executive Officer


The mission of the Property Clerk Division is to accept, catalog, safeguard, store, produce as required for court, return to legal owner or otherwise legally dispose of all property coming into the custody of the New York City Police Department.  Property not included is that which is actually owned by the Police Department.  Approximately two-thirds of all property taken in is evidence required for criminal cases.  Other categories of property accepted include the safekeeping of found property, decedent's property, prisoner's property, property no longer needed as evidence or for further investigation, contraband, seized peddler property pending release, serological evidence, and property confiscated for forfeiture proceedings.

Property received by this Division includes cash, jewelry, rifles and guns, various weapons, general property of every description, evidence related to homicides and other crimes (except serological evidence retained by the NYPD Forensic Investigation Division), and vehicles. All property coming into and leaving the Property Clerk Division is subject to strict legal constraints. Evidence property is regularly signed out for presentation to Criminal Court. Property that can be legally returned to its rightful owner is done so in a timely manner. Contraband is destroyed when it is no longer needed for a criminal case. Unclaimed general property and vehicles are disposed through public auctions held by the Property Clerk Division on a regular basis.

Operates: Monday through Friday: 8 A.M. to 6 P.M.


Return of Property (Other than a Vehicle)

1. Retain and safeguard your copy of the property voucher.

2. The owner of the property should appear in person to the Respective Borough Property Clerk office where the property was taken.  The owner may have an authorized representative make claim for the property.  Such representative must have a notarized letter from the owner of the property, identifying the individual to whom the owner is authorizing to act as his or her representative to claim the specific property.

3. The following papers must be presented to claim your property:

  1. An Invoice Number
  2. Proper Identification
  3. District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release

NOTE: If the vouchered property is NOT Arrest Evidence, a District Attorney's Release is NOT REQUIRED.

4. It is important to claim your property as soon as possible.

5. If property was arrest evidence, claimant must demand the property no later than 120 days after the termination of the criminal proceedings.  If no demand is made, the property may be disposed of by the Police Department Property Clerk according to law.

6.  If property is NOT Arrest Evidence, a demand should be made as soon as possible whether or not criminal proceedings have been instituted, and if instituted, any time whether or not such proceedings have been terminated. It is important that the demand be made for this property before 120 days from the day it is vouchered, or the property may be disposed of by the Police Department Property Clerk according to law.

7. If a demand is made for property which is Arrest Evidence, and there is no District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release, the claimant has 270 days from the demand to obtain a District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release.  If a release or a statement refusing to grant a release is not provided to the Property Clerk within 270 days of the demand, the property may be disposed of according to law.

8. If the claimant timely provides the Property Clerk with a District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release, the claimant must, when the District Attorney no longer needs the property, obtain and submit to the Police Department a District Attorney's release.

9. Forms to request a District Attorney's Release and/or other forms regarding the release may be obtained at a District Attorney's Office in any of the five boroughs.  The District Attorney's Release or Supervising District Attorney's Refusal to grant a release must be obtained from the District Attorney's Office where the Criminal Case is being prosecuted.

10.  If you have ANY QUESTIONS, please call your respective Property Clerk Division's Borough Property Office.

 

Borough

Telephone Number

Manhattan Property Office (646) 610-5906
Bronx Property Office (718) 590-2806
Brooklyn Property Office (718) 624-5364
or (718) 624-6330
Queens Property Office (718) 433-2678
Staten Island Property Office (718) 876-8413


Return of a Vehicle

1.   Retain and safeguard your copy of the property voucher.

2.   The owner of the vehicle should appear in person to the Erie Basin Auto Pound or call first to ensure the vehicle is available and to confirm the documents required.  The owner may have an authorized representative make claim for the vehicle.  Such representative must have a notarized letter from the owner of the property, identifying the individual to whom the owner is authorizing to act as his or her representative to claim the specific property.

3.   The following papers must be presented to claim the vehicle:

  1. Copy of Property Voucher
  2. Certificate of Title
  3. Proper Identification
  4. District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release

NOTE: If the vouchered property is NOT Arrest Evidence, a District Attorney's Release is NOT REQUIRED.

Call the Erie Basin Auto Pound to confirm if your vehicle is still needed as Arrest Evidence. Vehicles are often cleared earlier than expected.

4.   It is important to claim your property as soon as possible.

5.   If property was arrest evidence, claimant must demand the property no later than 120 days after the termination of the criminal proceedings.  If no demand is made, the property may be disposed of by the Police Department Property Clerk according to law.

6.  If property is NOT Arrest Evidence, a demand should be made as soon as possible whether or not criminal proceedings have been instituted, and if instituted, any time whether or not such proceedings have been terminated.   It is important that the demand be made for this property before 120 days from the day it is vouchered, or the property may be disposed of by the Police Department Property Clerk according to law.

7.   If a demand is made for property which is Arrest Evidence, and there is no District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release, the claimant has 270 days from the demand to obtain a District Attorney's Release or a supervising District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release.  If a release or a statement refusing to grant a release is not provided to the Property Clerk within 270 days of the demand, the property may be disposed of according to law.

8.   If the claimant timely provides the Property Clerk with a District Attorney's statement refusing to grant a release, the claimant must, when the District Attorney no longer needs the property, obtain and submit to the Police Department a District Attorney's release.

9.   Forms to request a District Attorney's Release and/or other forms regarding the release may be obtained at a District Attorney's Office in any of the five boroughs.  The District Attorney's Release or Supervising District Attorney's Refusal to grant a release must be obtained from the District Attorney's Office where the Criminal Case is being prosecuted.

10.  If you have ANY QUESTIONS, please call the Property Clerk Division's Erie Basin Auto Pound (718) 246-2031 or (718) 246-2032.



Rotation Tow Fees

In accordance with the Administrative Code of the City of New York, owners whose vehicles have been recovered under the Rotation Tow Program will be responsible for the following charges:

$50.00 Tow fee (unless double tow is authorized, then $100.00)

and

$10.00 per day storage for the first three days
$12.00 per day for the next seven days

The above fees may be in addition to other applicable fees.  Prior to retrieving a vehicle, it is suggested that owner's telephone the pound [(718) 246-2030] and inquire as to the status, fees and paperwork requirements necessary to release the vehicle.



Notice to a Finder of Property (Including Money)

Pursuant to law, property must be held for the following periods of time (unless sooner delivered to owner):

a. Property having a value of less that $100 - 3 months
b. Property having a value of $100 or more but less that $500 - 6 months
c. Property having a value of $500 or more but less that $5,000 - 1 year
d. Property having a value of $5,000 or more - 3 years

Please bring the receipt (your copy of the Property Clerk Invoice) with you when you are notified to appear to claim the property. For information concerning property which you delivered to this Department, please call the Property Clerk's office in the borough in which the property was turned in.



Depositing Firearms, Rifles & Shotguns for Safekeeping

All firearms, rifles and shotguns, deposited for safekeeping must by reclaimed by the owner or other person to whom the firearm was sold within one (1) year of the date of deposit. After the expiration of one (1) year, the firearm, rifle or shotgun will be disposed of by the Property Clerk pursuant to law, without further notice.

If you have ANY QUESTIONS, please call your respective Property Clerk Division's Borough Property Office.

 

Borough Telephone Number
Manhattan Property Office (646) 610-5906
Bronx Property Office (718) 590-2806
Brooklyn Property Office (718) 624-5364
or (718) 624-6330
Queens Property Office (718) 433-2678
Staten Island Property Office (718) 876-8413

Acceptable Proof of Identification and Address

 

You must present two (2) pieces of Identification to reclaim property. Property of high value such as cash or jewelry will require at least one piece to be a photo identification. You are encouraged to call before coming in for property to ensure that all necessary criteria for delivery are met.

 


 

NOTE ONLY THE BELOW LISTED

IDENTIFICATIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED.

  1. Alien Identification Card
  2. Armed Services Identification Card
  3. Birth Certificate or Baptismal Certificate
  4. Citizenship Papers
  5. College or University Photo Identification
  6. Credit Card
  7. Department of Justice Immigration Card
  8. Displaced Person Identification Card
  9. Driver's License, Learner's Permit or Non-Driver Identification
  10. Employment Photo Identification
  11. High School Identification Card
  12. Insurance Policies in effect more than three years
  13. Medicare/Medicaid Card, Hospital Card
  14. Military Discharge Card
  15. Mortgage Loan Account or Lease papers
  16. Passport
  17. Photo Identification Card issued by Local Government Agency
  18. Pistol or Firearm Permit with Photo
  19. Property Tax Statement
  20. Rent Receipt showing Applicant's name and address, by building owner or management
  21. Proof of Change of name
  22. Unemployment Insurance Booklet
  23. W-2 Yearly Income Tax form

You must present proper identification to claim property.  However, in some cases additional items must also be presented. 

Call the Borough Office for clarification before appearing to claim your property

Auto Pound Locations