The New York City Police Department today announced a citywide crackdown on the use of hand-held cell phones while driving beginning Tuesday, March 15th, 2011 at midnight. Tuesday’s initiative is part of the NYPD’s focus on traffic infractions linked to death and injury.
The NYPD reminds all New Yorkers that the use of a hand-held cell phone while driving a vehicle is illegal. In addition, driving while texting or talking on a cell phone is dangerous and endangers both drivers and pedestrians.
Individuals using hand-held cell phones while driving in New York City face a fine of $100. Drivers will also receive 2 penalty points on their license as a result of a new law which went into effect on February 16, 2011 prohibiting the use of hand-held cell phones while driving. During 2010, the NYPD issued on average 611 summonses a day to drivers using hand-held cell phones.
The 24-hour initiative begins Tuesday, March 15th at midnight. The NYPD encourages safe driving and asks the public to use seatbelts and to use a hands-free device for car phones.