The New York City Police Department today announced a citywide crackdown beginning Thursday at midnight on the use of hand-held cell phones while driving, as part of its focus on traffic infractions linked to death and injury.
The NYPD reminds all New Yorkers that the use of a hand-held cell phone while driving a vehicle is illegal. In addition, driving while texting or talking on a cell phone is dangerous and endangers both drivers and pedestrians.
Individuals using hand-held cell phones while driving in New York City face a fine of $130. During 2009, the NYPD issued on average 617 summonses a day to drivers using hand-held cell phones. On January 21st, 2010, 7,485 summonses were issued for this infraction during an initiative similar to the one planned for Thursday.
The 24-hour initiative begins Thursday, March 25th at midnight. The NYPD encourages safe driving and asks the public to use seatbelts and to use a hands-free device for car phones.