New York City Police Department

Permits | Handgun License Application

Important information for active UMOS:
Do not file a FOIL exemption request form with the License Division.
This form only applies to persons with active handgun licenses.


Click here for a letter from the Commanding Officer, License Division to License and Permit holders regarding the recently enacted NY SAFE Act.




THE LICENSE DIVISION IS OPEN TO SUBMIT NEW APPLICATIONS UNTIL 8:00 PM ON MONDAYS.
Applicants must arrive at 1 Police Plaza or the Rifle/Shotgun Section, 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Kew Gardens, early enough for processing to be completed by 8:00 PM. The amount of time needed to process an application varies by situation, but averages approximately 45 minutes. Please review instructions for items needed before submitting your application.



Overview

You may apply for a handgun license by downloading an application package, completing the application form and accompanying documents and submitting them, in person, to the License Division at 1 Police Plaza, Room 110, or at the Rifle and Shotgun Section, located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Room B-11, Kew Gardens, NY. 

In order to display the form, Adobe Acrobat Reader is required.

Click here to obtain Acrobat Reader if it IS NOT installed on your computer. 

When you have the Adobe Acrobat file open you may type in the information in the window, however, this information will not be saved once you end the Acrobat Reader session. As an alternative, you may print the form and complete it with a typewriter later. Once completed, bring the entire package to 1 Police Plaza, Room 110, or tothe Rifle and Shotgun Section, located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Room B-11, Kew Gardens, NY along with two (2) money orders ($340.00 filing fee and $91.50 fingerprint fee) made payable to the New York City Police Department.

All applictions must be submitted in person. We cannot process your application online or by mail due to the fingerprinting requirement.

Please note, if you are applying for a Carry Business license, you must complete the “Letter of Necessity" and submit it along with your completed application form.”


Downloads

Click here to download the License application guide, Handgun License Application form Pre-License Exemption and Affidavit of Familiarity in one file. (415 KB)