New York City Police Department

Firearms Licenses | Gun Licensing FAQ

Important notice regarding temporary change in License Division and Rifle and Shotgun Section hours of operation.

Effective immediately the License Division and the Rifle and Shotgun Section will not be open to accept new applications on Monday nights.

The License Division’s hours of operation will be from 8:30 AM until 4 PM Monday through Friday until further notice.




Important information for active UMOS:
Do not file a FOIL exemption request form with the License Division.
This form only applies to persons with active handgun licenses.


Click here for a letter from the Commanding Officer, License Division to License and Permit holders regarding the recently enacted NY SAFE Act.




Frequently Asked Questions

 

What should I do if my home or firearms were affected by Hurricane Sandy?

How do I apply for a handgun license?

Where can I obtain a handgun license application form?

Does the application need to be typed?

Do I have to disclose my arrest history if the charges against me were dismissed and sealed?

What are some of the reasons that may cause my application to be disapproved? 

Where can I obtain a rifle/shotgun application?

I have a rifle/shotgun permit already; do I still need to be fingerprinted for a handgun license?

How much does it cost to apply for a handgun license?

Can I go target shooting outside NYC?

Can I go hunting if I have a premises residence license?

May I purchase an “assault weapon” now that the federal assault weapons ban has expired?

What do I have to do to purchase a new handgun?

What do I have to do to sell a handgun?

I’m moving to another residence in NYC, how do I update my handgun license?

I’m moving to another residence outside NYC, can I keep my NYC handgun license?

I did not receive my handgun license renewal application, what should I do?

What is the proper way to safeguard my firearm when not in use?

My license expired, what do I do now?

I was arrested, what should I do now?

The police came to my house during a domestic dispute; do I have to report this to the License Division?

How do I get an armed guard license?

Can I still apply for an armed guard license if I live outside NYC?

I’m an armed guard; can I transport my firearm to and from home to work?

How do I apply for a rifle/shotgun permit?

How much does it cost to apply for a rifle/shotgun permit?

Where can I obtain information about the newly enacted New York State firearms laws?

How do I request a FOIL exemption for my personal information?

Where are your offices located?

What is your telephone number?


 

What should I do if my home or firearms were affected by Hurricane Sandy?

Please click here for a letter from the Commanding Officer, License Division to licensees and permit holders regarding Hurricane Sandy related issues.


Return to top 

How do I apply for a handgun license?

Applicants must personally appear and submit a signed application to the License Division when applying. Fees may be paid by credit card or with two money orders. The application fee is $340.00. Effective March 19, 2012, the fingerprint fee is $91.50. If you are paying with money orders, the money orders should be made payable to the “New York City Police Department.”


Return to top 

Where can I obtain a handgun license application form?

You can pick up a handgun license application from the License Division offices located in 1 Police Plaza, Room 110, or, you can download an application package from this page. Click the Handgun Licensing Forms link in the left column to download the application package. You will need Adobe Reader to display and complete the form.


Return to top

Does the application need to be typed?

Yes, NYC rules require your application to be typed. The online application package allows you to fill in the form on your computer and print out a completed copy for submission to the License Division.


Return to top

Do I have to disclose my arrest history if the charges against me were dismissed and sealed?

Yes, New York State Criminal Procedure Law §160.50 (1)(d)(iii) grants the License Division authority to obtain the sealed criminal records of any person who has applied for a license to possess guns. License Division rules require all applicants to disclose their arrest history and submit a Certificate of Disposition showing the offense and disposition of the charges, along with a notarized statement describing the circumstances surrounding each arrest. This information must be provided even if the case was dismissed, the record sealed or the case nullified by operation of law. Failure or refusal to disclose this information will result in the disapproval of your application for a license or permit.


Return to top

What are some of the reasons that may cause my application to be disapproved? 

Your application may be disapproved for any of the following reasons:

A history of arrest or conviction, depending upon the severity of the charges and the amount of time that has elapsed since your last arrest or conviction.
Your failure to disclose your full criminal history, including sealed arrests, on your application;
A history of domestic violence incidents;
A history of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI, DWI, DWAI);
Your failure to cooperate with the investigation of your application;
A poor DMV history, including moving violations, failure to appear and answer summonses or failure to pay fines.

This is not a complete list.  If your investigation results in a determination that you lack character and fitness for a license or permit, your application will be denied.


Return to top

Where can I obtain a rifle/shotgun application?

Rifle/shotgun applications are available from the Rifle/Shotgun Section which is located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Room B-11, Kew Gardens, NY, or, you can download an application package from this page. Click the Rifle/Shotgun Application Permits link in the left column to download the application package. You will need Adobe Reader to display and complete the form.


Return to top

I have a rifle/shotgun permit already; do I still need to be fingerprinted for a handgun license?

Yes, NYS law requires all handgun license applicants to be fingerprinted.


Return to top

How much does it cost to apply for a handgun license?

The application fee for a handgun license is $340.00. Effective March 9, 2012, the fee for fingerprints is $91.50. These fees may be paid by credit card or with money orders when you submit your application. Money orders should be made payable to the “New York City Police Department.”

 

Return to top

Can I go target shooting outside NYC?

A NYC carry business license is valid throughout NYS. Premise residence and premise business licenses are only valid in NYC except as indicated in the next section.


Return to top

Can I go hunting if I have a premises residence license?

You must obtain a hunting authorization from the License Division to hunt in an authorized area designated by the NYS Fish and Wildlife law. Your handgun must be transported unloaded, in a locked container and you must comply with all relevant NYS hunting regulations.


Return to top

May I purchase an “assault weapon” now that the federal assault weapons ban has expired?

No, both NYS law and the NYC Administrative Code prohibit ownership of assault weapons.


Return to top

What do I have to do to purchase a new handgun?

You must obtain a Handgun Purchase Authorization form from the License Division before you purchase a handgun. Call the Purchase Order Section at (646) 610-5550 for information. After purchasing the handgun, you must bring it to the License Division within 72 hours to have the make, model and serial number recorded on your handgun license.


Return to top

What do I have to do to sell a handgun?

Before selling a handgun listed on your license, you must notify the License Division at (646) 610-5154. When you contact the License Division you will be advised on the proper procedures to follow to complete the sale. Failure to notify the License Division that you are selling a handgun is a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.


Return to top

I’m moving to another residence in NYC; how do I update my handgun license?

If you have moved, you must come to the License Division, Room 152 within ten days with a completed and notarized ADDRESS/EMPLOYMENT CHANGE REPORT form, your original license(s) and proof of your new address in order to amend your license. You may download and complete a copy of the ADDRESS/EMPLOYMENT CHANGE REPORT form by clicking here.

 

Return to top

I’m moving to another residence outside NYC; can I keep my NYC handgun license?

If you have a premises residence license, you must contact the Cancellation Section at (646) 610-5871 and cancel your NYC license. You may apply for a new license from the licensing officer of the county where your new residence is located. If you are licensed for business reasons and your business remains in NYC you must come to the License Division, Room 152 within ten days with a completed and notarized ADDRESS/EMPLOYMENT CHANGE REPORT form and proof of your new address in order to update your file. You may download and complete a copy of the ADDRESS/EMPLOYMENT CHANGE REPORT form by clicking here.


Return to top

I did not receive my handgun license renewal application; what should I do?

If your license has not yet expired, contact the Renewal Section at (646) 610-5872 for instructions.

 

Return to top

What is the proper way to safeguard my firearm when not in use? 

NYC Administrative Code Section 10-312(a) requires licensees to use a safety locking device when a firearm is out of the licensee’s immediate possession or control. Click here to see some examples of safety locking devices that can be used for this purpose.

 

Return to top

My license expired; what do I do now?

If your license has already expired, you must voucher your handguns with your local precinct and send a copy of the voucher to the Renewal Section. Contact the Renewal Section at (646) 610-5872 for instructions on how to proceed. Remember, possession of an unlicensed handgun is a crime and may subject you to arrest and imprisonment.


Return to top

I was arrested; what should I do now?

You must immediately report your arrest to the License Division Incident Section at (646) 610-5872. Your case will be assigned to an investigator and you will receive instructions regarding your license and handgun(s).


Return to top

The police came to my house during a domestic dispute; do I have to report this to the License Division?

Yes, if the police came to your house during a domestic dispute, you must immediately notify the License Division Incident Section at (646) 610-5154. Your case will be assigned to an investigator and you will receive instructions regarding you license and handgun(s).


Return to top

How do I get an armed guard license?

You may apply for a carry guard license at the License Division’s offices in 1 Police Plaza. You must also obtain a NYS armed guard identification card in order to qualify for this license.


Return to top

Can I still apply for an armed guard license if I live outside NYC?

Yes, if your employer is located within NYC, you may apply for a NYC carry guard license.


Return to top

I’m an armed guard; can I transport my firearm to and from home to work?

Under certain circumstances you may transport your handgun to and from your place of employment to your residence. If you are authorized to do this, you must transport your handgun directly from your home to you place of employment, and then directly to your home after work. Call the Carry Guard Section if you have any questions (646) 610-4611.


Return to top

How do I apply for a rifle/shotgun permit?

You must submit a completed rifle/shotgun permit application to the Rifle/Shotgun Section. The Rifle/Shotgun Section is located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Kew Gardens NY. The telephone number is 718-520-9300.

 

Return to top

How much does it cost to apply for a rifle/shotgun permit?

The application fee for a permit is $140.00. You must also pay a fingerprint fee of $91.50. All fees may be paid by credit card or with two money orders made payable to the “New York City Police Department.”

 

Return to top

Where can I obtain information about the newly enacted New York State firearms laws?

The Governor's Office has created a web site explaining the provisions of the New York Secure Ammunition and Firearms Enforcement Act of 2013 (NY SAFE Act). Click here to view the governor's web page. By clicking this link you will be taken to an external web site.

http://www.governor.ny.gov/2013/gun-reforms

 

Return to top

How do I request a FOIL exemption for my personal information?

Important information for active UMOS:
Do not file a FOIL exemption request form with the License Division.
This form only applies to persons with active handgun licenses.

The NY State Police have made the FOIL exemption request form available on their website along with FAQs about the new law and instructions on how to complete the form. The URL is http://troopers.ny.gov/Firearms/Public_Records_Exemption.

Please note that pistol license information held by the License Division is currently exempt from disclosure pursuant to the NY SAFE Act, and will be until May 15, 2013. If you wish to apply for the exemption you should do so by May 15, 2013 in order to avoid any disclosure.

Please mail the completed form to:

Commanding Officer, License Division
1 Police Plaza, Room 152B
New York, NY 10038
Attention: Records Unit

 

Return to top

Where are your offices located?

License Division
1 Police Plaza, Room 110
New York, NY 10038

Rifle/Shotgun Section
120-55 Queens Boulevard, Room B-11
Kew Gardens, NY 11424


Return to top

What Is Your Telephone Number?

Main Number
646-610-5560
Fax 646-610-6399

New Applications
646-610-5551

Carry Guards
646-610-4611

Issuing
646-610-5550

Cancellations
646-610-5871

Carry Business
646-610-6289

Rifle Shotgun Section
718-520-9300

Hearings
646-610-5873

Incidents
646-610-5154
Fax 646-610-7672

Retirees
646-610-5536

Purchase Orders
646-610-5550

Renewals
646-610-5872

Gun Custodians
646-610-5936


Return to top