Where two family members or intimate partners accuse each other of committing a family offense misdemeanor, (known as a **cross-complaint**), the police must attempt to identify and arrest the **primary physical aggressor** after considering the comparative injuries, any threats made, history of the parties, and whether either person acted defensively to protect her/himself from injury.

# WHAT SHOULD I DO AFTER THE POLICE LEAVE?

- Contact, and expect to be contacted by, a Domestic Violence Prevention Officer from your precinct/ housing police service area. The DVPO will assist you in developing a personalized safety plan.
- Always obtain medical attention for injuries.
- Consider whether an order of protection may be helpful.
- Call the phone numbers provided in this brochure for further assistance.
- Keep a copy of domestic incident reports and other documents in a safe place.

## For Further Assistance and Resources:

Police Emergency Dial 911

New York City Information/Services call 311

New York City Domestic Violence Hotline (24 hour) **1-800-621-HOPE** (4673)

For the hearing impaired: 1-800-810-7444

New York State Domestic Violence Hotline

English: 1-800-942-6906 Spanish: 1-800-942-6908 New York State Child Abuse Hotline: 1-800-342-3720

## VINE

# (Victim Information Notification Everyday) 1-888-VINE-4-NY

Victim Information Notification Everyday is a 24 hour automated hotline that provides victims with the release date of inmates who are in custody of the New York City or State Department of Corrections prison system.

# NYPD website: http://www.nyc.gov/nypd

**Brooklyn:** Criminal Court (718) 250-3300

Family Court (347) 401-9600

**Bronx:** Criminal Court (718) 590-2858

Family Court (718) 618-2098

Manhattan: Criminal Court (212) 335-4300

Family Court (646) 386-5200

Queens: Criminal Court (718) 286-6550

Family Court (718) 298-0197

Staten Island: Criminal Court (718) 876-6300

Family Court (718) 675-8800

# **New York City Family Justice Centers Locations**

350 Jay St. - 15th Fl. (718) 250-5097 Brooklyn, NY 12001

162-02 82nd Ave. (718) 575-4500 Oueens, NY 14115 (Kew Gardens)

198 E. 161st St. (718) 508-1222 Bronx, NY 10451

80 Centre St. - 5th Fl. (212) 335-3523 New York, NY 10013

126 Stuyvesant Pl. (718) 697-4300

Staten Island, NY 10301

BM 786 (Rev. 02-17) EN - How the police can help



# HOW THE POLICE CAN HELP



Bill de Blasio Mayor

James P. O'Neill Police Commissioner

Dial "911" for Emergency

# Domestic Violence — You're Not Alone

#### **DOES YOUR PARTNER...**

- hit, punch, slap, kick, shove or bite you?
- constantly criticize you and your abilities as a spouse, partner or parent?
- behave in a possessive way or become extremely jealous?
- threaten to hurt you, your children, pets, family members, friends, or self?
- prevent you from seeing family or friends?
- get suddenly angry or lose his/her temper?
- destroy personal property or throw things around?
- deny you access to family assets like bank accounts, credit cards, or the car?
- control all finances and force you to account for what you spend?
- use intimidation or manipulation to control you or your children?
- prevent you from going where you want to and when you want to?
- deny you access to food, beverages, sleep, medicine or medical care?
- force you to have sex against your will?
- prevent you from getting or keeping a job or from going to school?
- humiliate or embarrass you in front of others?

If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, you may be a victim of domestic abuse. You are not alone. You deserve help, and help is available. **The NYPD will assist you.** 

#### WHAT CAN THE POLICE DO FOR ME?

The police can help you and your family, but they need information from you. It is important to tell the police all that you can about what happened and whether it has occurred before. It is also important to let the police know if you are afraid or in pain, even if you don't have injuries that show. The police will need to know as much as possible to help keep your family safe and violence free.

# The police can help you:

- get to a safe place away from the violence such as a **Shelter and/or Safe home**.
- obtain and serve an **Order of Protection** (a court document) which will order your abuser to stop hurting or threatening you or to stay away from you and your children.
- get medical care, legal advice, social services assistance, emergency housing transfers, crisis intervention and counseling support for you and your children. These services are provided through a citywide network of direct providers.
- arrange for a security survey of your home by the precinct/housing police service area crime prevention officer to address your immediate security needs, and arrange to have the lock changed free of charge.
- speak to a precinct/housing police service area Domestic Violence Prevention Officer (DVPO) who will work with you and your family to help maintain your safety and well-being.
- develop a safety plan and provide tips to enhance your security at home, work, and during your commute.

# WHAT SHOULD I EXPECT WHEN THE POLICE ARRIVE?

When the police are called, they are required to investigate even if you, the victim, did not request their services. In order to assist you and your family, the police must interview you, your abuser, and others who may have seen or heard the incident. When possible, you will be asked questions apart from the abuser. This is done so that you can speak freely about the incident without intimidation.

The police will prepare a report of the incident and ask you to write and sign a statement about what happened. This report is called a Domestic Incident Report (DIR). The back of the DIR has information that can help you decide how to proceed and where to access services. You will be given a copy of the DIR.

The police may also ask to see and photograph your injuries and/or damage to property relating to domestic violence.

There is a **mandatory arrest law** in New York State when the police have probable cause to believe that a CRIME has been committed. The police MUST arrest the offender if you and the offender are members of the same family/household or intimate partners and:

- a felony was committed, or
- an Order of Protection was violated, or
- a family offense misdemeanor was committed (unless the victim requests otherwise).
- Violation committed in the Officers's Presence (unless the victim requests otherwise)