New York City Housing Authority

Translate this Page Printer Friendly Format Sign-up for NYCHA Newsletter
Applying for Section 8

Section 8 Eligibility

You may be eligible for the Section 8 Housing Assistance Program if you qualify for one of the emergency categories listed below. Each emergency category requires a referral or other documentation and qualifies applicants for a Section 8 priority code.

Emergency Categories

  1. Victims of Domestic Violence
  2. Applicants referred by the District Attorney's Office for the Intimidated Witness Program
  3. Applicants referred by the Administration for Children's Services' (ACS) Independent Living and Family Unification Programs
  • The income of your family does not exceed the established Income Limits.

    Person(s) in Family

    Income Limit





















  • You meet NYCHA's definition of family.  The term "family" as used by the New York City Housing Authority includes the following:
    1. Two or more persons related by blood, marriage, registered domestic partnership, adoption, guardianship or court awarded custody.
    2. Two or more unrelated persons living together as a cohesive household group in a sharing relationship.
    3. A single person.

  • Your family meets the Standards for Admission for the Section 8 Housing Assistance Program.

  • You or your co-applicant is at least 18 years of age.
Please also review our Frequently Asked Questions to get more of your eligibility questions answered.