COREY JOHNSON Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

November 7, 2012

Ms. Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, New York 10038

Re: 9th Avenue Metered Parking Regulations

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) requests that the Department of Transportation remove the recently installed 2 hour parking meters along the west side of 9th Avenue between West 40th Street and West 59th Street and along the east side between West 42nd Street and 59th Street. This would enable a return to the free untimed parking that existed after 7pm previous to the installation of the enclosed bicycle lanes.

We have received a petition signed by 2,000 Broadway worker union members and local businesses. A coalition of the Unions representing performing artists and the Broadway workforce brought the need for the free untimed parking to our attention. Broadway and local musicians, performing artists and workers have been using 9th Avenue for several years as affordable parking, made convenient since 7pm coincides with their typical required arrival time for evening performances and the time the parking becomes available. In addition to the cost - \$9 for two hours - the two-hour time limit eliminates the ability of the musicians and actors, who typically have start up and performances lasting 3 to 4 hours, to use these spaces. The musicians usually carry bulky and expensive instruments. This seriously limits their transportation options.

The unions who have requested this change include:

Actors' Equity Association (AEA) American Federation of Musicians, Local 802 (AFM) Association of Theatrical Press Agents and Managers, Local 18032 (IATSE) Dramatists Guild International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, International (IATSE) Makeup Artists Hair Stylists Union Local 798 (IATSE) Motion Picture Projectionists, Operators. Video Technicians, Theatrical Employees & Allied Crafts, Local 306 (IATSE) Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers (SSD&C) Service Employees International Union, Local 32BJ Theatre Division (SEIU) Theatrical Protective Union Stage Hands, Local 1 (IATSE) Theatrical Wardrobe Union, Local 764 (IATSE) Unted Scenic Artists Local 829 (IATSE)

In addition, Tenant PAC has also endorsed the restoration of free evening parking.

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4 In addition, the community has not been sufficiently consulted for such a unique change.

While NYC DOT had mentioned in its February 27, 2012 response to our questions that metered parking "may" be added we had anticipated, as is customary, further discussion before their installation. In addition DOT had indicated that any such change would only occur after bicycle lane installation. As it stands the bicycle lane is not yet installed. No other enclosed bicycle lanes installation in Manhattan included such a change in evening parking regulations. 9th Avenue is not unique, as it is not generally considered part of the business district, certainly not when it comes to traffic studies, to midtown pedestrians plans, or to other improvements, so there is no basis for singling out this avenue for such a change.

Finally there is no community need for this change. There are no deliveries after 7 p.m. and most of restaurant goers come by foot and public transit. There is no need for turnover.

This Community Board actively supported the enclosed bicycle lanes and was pleased by the results of most of our negotiations with DOT regarding their placement. However, given DOT's policy of changing parking regulations as little as possible when installing enclosed bicycle lanes, we consider this change unwarranted and don't feel our working artist community, should be penalized gratuitously. We strongly object to this change in evening parking regulations and request that NYC DOT remove these parking regulations for after 7 pm as soon as possible.

Sincerely yours,

Mer Mer

Corey Johnson Chair

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Cc: Gale Brewer Christine Quinn Scott Stringer