CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD No. 4

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

WALTER MANKOFF Chair

ANTHONY M. BORELLI District Manager

April 12, 2005

Honorable Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner New York City Department of Transportation 40 Worth Street New York, NY 10013

Re: Request to change parking regulations on W. 14th St., between Seventh and Eighth Avs.

Dear Commissioner Forgione,

At its March 16, 2005 meeting, Manhattan Community Board No. 4's Transportation Planning Committee heard from local residents who support a proposal initiated by Community Board No. 2 to change parking regulations on West 14th Street between Seventh and Eighth Avenues from "No Standing from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m." to "No Standing from 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.". Local businesses also voiced support for the proposal through conversation with Board staff.

In 2001, metered parking was curtailed in favor of the current regulations at the request of 14th Street Special Committee – a joint committee of Community Boards Nos. 2 and 4. The change was made in response to criminal complaints related to the presence of several clubs and bars on the block (including drug sales, fights, and a murder on the block), and allowed the police a clear view of the sidewalk. The change also resulted in the added benefits of reduced congestion in the street and less noise caused by horn-honking, loitering club patrons, and loud music playing from parked vehicles.

Members of the public stated that restaurants and small businesses on the block would benefit if metered parking were allowed until 11:00 p.m. Clubs do still exist on the block, but as their patrons do not typically arrive prior to 11:00 p.m., the club-related problems that necessitate the limit on late night parking are not a factor until then.

As such, at its April 6, 20055 meeting, Manhattan Community Board No. 4 voted to support the request.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Walter Mankoff

Chair

Manhattan Community Board No. 4

Jay Marcus Chair

Transportation Planning Committee

cc: Manhattan Community Board No. 2

Encl. – supportive resolution from CB2