Translate This Page Printer Friendly Version Text Size: A A A

Toni Morrison Calvin Trillin Jules Feiffer Jon Scieszka Morton Janklow and Lynn Nesbit John Ashbery

New York City is home to some of the world's greatest authors, and an inspiration for the work of even more. The NYC Literary Honors celebrates great living authors and scholars who have demonstrated a lifetime of achievement, and for whom New York has been a central inspiration. Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg created the Literary Honors to underline the important role great words and great works play in New York City's cultural fabric, as well as the publishing industry's important role in our economy.

On April 23th, 2013, at Gracie Mansion, the Mayor presented the Literary Honors to seven men and women who have enriched the lives of New Yorkers and readers around the world:

In addition, the Mayor, joined by award-winning actress Christine Barankski, named the 2013 class of NYC Literary Legends, 7 pillars of our city's literary history, and recognized a NYC public school student for achievement in creative writing.

We invite you to browse these pages and learn more about New York City's literary heritage, our honorees and Literary Legends, and the elegant ceremony that honored them.