NEW YORK CITY LAW DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE CORPORATION COUNSEL

Press Release

Michael A. Cardozo, Corporation Counsel

nyc.gov/law

For Immediate Release

MAYOR MICHAEL R. BLOOMBERG HONORS LAW DEPARTMENT STAFF AT 29TH ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONY

Contact: Kate O'Brien Ahlers, Communications Director, (212) 788-0400, media@law.nyc.gov

New York, Dec. 17, 2010 – Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg honored the employees of the Law Department at the 29th Annual Awards Ceremony yesterday evening in the Surrogates Court

The Mayor praised the Law Department's significant victories from the past year and applauded the Department's efforts to defend the City's rights and protect the public fisc.

"These are uncertain and difficult times in our city – and your service to the people of New York is more critical than ever," said the Mayor.

The Mayor also commended the efforts of both support staff and attorneys and thanked all for their service. In particular, he highlighted the achievements of the longevity award recipients – those who have worked at the Department for more than 25 years.

Corporation Counsel Michael A. Cardozo, head of the Law Department, said, "I congratulate all of this year's award winners. It is a pleasure to work shoulder-to-shoulder with such talented professionals.

He added, "This ceremony also recognizes the hard work and dedication every member of the Department exhibits in their daily work. I am grateful for their commitment to the Department and the City.

Key individual awards were given to Stephen Louis, the Chief of the Agency's Legal Counsel Division and Simone Hobbs, the current Chief of Personnel, in honor of their exemplary performance and outstanding dedication to the Department. Additionally, Department of Education General Counsel Michael Best was specially recognized for his outstanding service as counsel to an agency.

The 2010 awardees are:

Corporation Counsel's Award for Distinguished Legal Service

Presented annually to an attorney who has served the Law Department for at least 10 years and who has consistently demonstrated the superior achievement and dedication that define a distinguished career.

• Stephen Louis, Legal Counsel

Martin J. Devine Memorial Award

Awarded to a member of the non-legal staff who has shown distinguished performance, achievement, dedication and initiative during a Law Department career of at least 10 years. This award is named in

honor of Martin J. Devine who served the Law Department for 77 years – the longest-serving employee in our history.

Simone Hobbs

The Edith Spivack Special Recognition Awards

Named in honor of Edith Spivack, who served a 70-year career at the Law Department. This award is given to non-managerial attorneys with more than five years of service, for specific outstanding achievements as well as overall dedication and superior performance.

- Beth Alson, Tort
- Christopher King, Environmental Law
- Arthur Larkin, Special Federal Litigation
- Lavanya Pisupati, Tort
- Mary Richman, Contracts and Real Estate
- Laurie Smith, Family Court
- Theresa Wilson-Campbell, Family Court

Law Department Achievement Awards

Presented to select members of the full-time non-legal staff for specific achievements during the past year, as well as for overall dedication and superior performance.

- Veronica Cochrane, Tort
- Diego Cordero, Operations
- Igor Gorelik, Information Technology
- Lisa Forrester-Campos, General Litigation
- Irma Francis, Operations
- Margaret Nelson, Family Court
- Loris Smith, Administration

Legal Assistant Achievement Awards

Awarded to Paralegals, Claims Specialists, Student Legal Specialists or Senior Student Legal Specialists with at least one year of service to the Law Department who have demonstrated outstanding performance and achievement during the past year.

- Edwina Angelettie, Family Court
- Irene Bondar, Labor and Employment Law
- Ingrid Espinosa, Family Court
- Natalya Fadeyeva, Special Federal Litigation
- Garreth Stewart, Tort
- Carmelo Trinidad, Tort
- Paul Zabe, Tort

Legal Rookie of the Year Awards

Awarded to first-year attorneys who demonstrate outstanding performance, promise, dedication, solid work ethics, constructive attitude and willingness to contribute to building a positive work environment.

- John Buhta, General Litigation
- Andrew Lucas, Tort
- Meghan McKenna Workers' Compensation
- Brittany Shrader, Family Court
- Paul Zaragoza, Workers' Compensation

Support Rookie of the Year Awards

Presented to support employees who demonstrate outstanding performance, promise, dedication, solid work ethics, constructive attitude and willingness to contribute to building a positive work environment.

• Luz Galarza, Workers' Compensation

Pro Bono Award

Given to an attorney who has demonstrated distinction by providing extraordinary legal pro bono services during the past year.

• Robin Wakefield, Administration

Community Service Award

Given to a non-legal member of the Law Department's support staff who has shown distinction through his or her participation in providing volunteer services to not-for-profit or community organizations during the past year.

• Derek Ishmael, Family Court

Dorothy Marie Miner Award for Outstanding Service as Counsel to an Agency

Named in honor of Dorothy Marie Miner, who was the longtime counsel to the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission. It is presented to an attorney with at least three years of legal service to an agency other than the Law Department who exemplify distinguished performance, dedication and initiative throughout the candidate's career, and outstanding accomplishments which further the mission of his or her agency.

Michael Best, Department of Education

Longevity Awards

We applaud the following staff who have been with the Law Department 40 years:

Jeffrey Friedlander

We applaud the following staff who have been with the Law Department 35 years:

- Olivia Goodman
- Nadine Powell
- Marjorie Wiener

We applaud the following staff who have been with the Law Department 30 years:

- Michael Adler
- Patricia Butler
- Delores Carr
- Cheryl Coles
- Suzanne Colt
- Deborah Harrison
- Sheryl Hobbs
- Julian Kalkstein
- Zelma Moore
- Larry Richman
- Mayra Rueda,
- Susan Shapiro
- Paulette Sheard

Jacquelyn Williams

We applaud the following staff who have been with the Law Department for 25 years:

- Sonia Belgrave
- Veronica Cochrane
- Elizabeth Freedman
- Steven Goulden
- Ainsley Harris
- Susan Kath
- G. Foster Mills
- Linda Pedi
- Kenneth Sasmor
- Victoria Scalzo
- Christopher Wolfe
- Zina Young-Hope

Editor's Notes:

 Winners of our Division Chief Awards can be obtained by calling the Media Office at (212) 788-0400 or e-mailing media @law.nyc.gov.

The New York City Law Department is one of the oldest, largest and most dynamic law offices in the world, ranking among the top three largest law offices in New York City and one of the largest public law offices in the country. Tracing its roots back to the 1600's, the Department has an active caseload of 90,000 matters and transactions in 17 legal divisions. The Corporation Counsel heads the Law Department and acts as legal counsel for the Mayor, elected officials, the City and all its agencies. The Department's 650 attorneys represent the City on a vast array of civil litigation, legislative and legal issues and in the criminal prosecution of juveniles. For more information, please visit nyc.gov/law.