Email a Friend
NYC Department of Housing Preservation & Development

Neighborhood-Wide Redevelopment (Urban Renewal)

Urban Renewal is the legal authority by which a municipality undertakes planned and coordinated activities to redevelop entire neighborhoods. There are currently approximately 65 urban renewal areas in New York City. Each area has a corresponding urban renewal plan, which defines the area's boundaries and specifies the manner in which it will be redeveloped.

Photo property of NYCHPDAs New York City's urban renewal agency, HPD drafts or modifies urban renewal plans; seeks approval of the plans from local Community Boards, Borough Presidents, the City Planning Commission, the City Council, and the Mayor; acquires property through condemnation and other means; sells properties for the purpose of redevelopment; coordinates relocation of residents and businesses; and, coordinates redevelopment of the area.

For additional information on Urban Renewal, call (212) 863-8961


I am a...
Learn About...
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
View Site Map