Mayor Bloomberg and Media & Entertainment Commissioner Congratulate the 2013 “Made in NY” Emmy Winners

September 23, 2013 - At the 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, “Made in NY” television series were honored with 26 awards.

“The 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards have recognized some of the most talented people in the production industry by honoring so many ‘Made in NY’ shows this year,” said Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg. “From casting directors to actors, hairstylists to camera operators, New York City is home to a thriving community of creative professionals and we salute all of them, along with our ‘Made in NY’ Emmy winners. The City has truly become a TV town which means good-paying jobs for 130,000 New Yorkers and an industry that contributes over $7 billion to the local economy supporting thousands of small businesses citywide. There’s never been a better time to be ‘Made in NY.’”

“This has been an incredible year for the thousands of New Yorkers who work in front of and behind the cameras on the dozens of ‘Made in NY’ TV shows that film on location and at stages throughout the five boroughs,” said Commissioner Katherine Oliver. “Congratulations to our ‘Made in NY’ Emmy winners! We can’t wait to see what your creativity will come up with next.”

Among the “Made in NY” winners are:

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Nurse Jackie, Showtime
Merritt Wever

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series
30 Rock, “Last Lunch,” NBC
Tina Fey, Written by
Tracey Wigfield, Written by

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Boardwalk Empire, HBO
Bobby Cannavale

Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Don Roy King

Outstanding Variety Series
The Colbert Report, Comedy Central

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series
The Colbert Report, Comedy Central
Head Writer: Opus Moreschi; Writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Rich Dahm, Barry Julien, Michael Brumm, Rob Dubbin, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Glenn Eichler, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner, Eric Drysdale, Dan Guterman, Paul Dinello, Nate Charny and Bobby Mort

Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program
Project Runway, Lifetime
Heidi Klum, Host
Tim Gunn, Host

Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series
30 Rock, NBC
Jennifer McNamara-Shroff, Casting Director
Katja Blichfeld, CSA, Casting Director
Jessica Daniels, CSA, Casting Director

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series
Louie, FX Networks
Melissa Leo Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Eugene Lee, Production Designer
Akira Yoshimura, Production Designer
Keith Ian Raywood, Production Designer

Outstanding Art Direction for a Single-Camera Series
Boardwalk Empire, HBO
Bill Groom, Production Designer
Adam Scher, Art Director
Carol Silverman, Set Decorator

Outstanding Picture Editing for Short-Form Segments and Variety Specials
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Comedy Central
Einar Westerlund, Editor
Outstanding Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or Special
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Bettie O. Rogers, Department Head Hairstylist
Jodi Mancuso, Key Hairstylist
Inga Thrasher, Hairstylist
Jennifer Serio Stauffer, Hairstylist
Cara Hannah Sullivan, Hairstylist

Outstanding Hairstyling for a Single-Camera Series
Boardwalk Empire, HBO
Francesca Paris, Department Head Hairstylist
Lisa Dellechiaie, Key Hairstylist
Sarah Stamp, Key Hairstylist

Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Comedy Or Drama Series (One Hour)
Boardwalk Empire, HBO
Frank Stettner, C.A.S., Production Mixer
Tom Fleischman, C.A.S., Re-Recording Mixer
George A. Lara, Foley Mixer
Mark DeSimone, ADR Mixer

Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series (Half-Hour) and Animation
Nurse Jackie, Showtime
Jan McLaughlin, C.A.S., Production Sound Mixer
Peter Waggoner, Re-Recording Mixer

Outstanding Makeup for a Multi-Camera Series or Special (Non-Prosthetic)
Saturday Night Live, NBC
Louie Zakarian, Department Head Makeup Artist
Josh Turi, Makeup Artist
Amy Tagliamonti, Makeup Artist
Daniela Zivkovic, Additional Makeup Artist
Melanie Demitri, Additional Makeup Artist

Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series
Boardwalk Empire, HBO
Fred Rosenberg, Supervising Sound Editor
Roland Vajs, Sound Editor
Bill Orrico, Sound Editor
Jeffrey Stern, Dialogue Editor
Ruy Garcia, Sound Effects Editor
Annette Kudrak, Music Editor
Steve Visscher, Foley Editor
Marko Costanzo, Foley Artist

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics
The 66th Annual Tony Awards, “If I Had Time,” CBS
Adam Schlesinger, Lyrics by
David Javerbaum, Music by

Outstanding Music Direction
The 66th Annual Tony Awards, CBS
Elliot Lawrence, Music Director

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series
The Good Wife, CBS
Carrie Preston as Elsbeth Tascioni

Outstanding Directing for Nonfiction Programming
American Masters, Mel Brooks: Make A Noise, PBS
Robert Trachtenberg, Directed by

Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Series
American Masters, PBS
Susan Lacy, Executive Producer
Julie Sacks, Supervising Producer
Prudence Glass, Series Producer
Jessica Levin, Produced By

Outstanding Informational Series or Special
Inside The Actors Studio, Bravo
James Lipton, Executive Producer
Christian Barcellos, Executive Producer
Shawn Tesser, Producer
Jeff Wurtz, Producer

Outstanding Special Class Programs
The 66th Annual Tony Awards, CBS
Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer
Glenn Weiss, Executive Producer
Neil Patrick Harris, Producer/Host

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special
The 66th Annual Tony Awards, CBS
Eric Becker, Technical Director
Rob Balton, Camera
Gerard Cancel, Camera
Bob DelRusso, Camera
Charlie Huntley, Camera
Ernie Jew, Camera
Tore Livia, Camera
John Meiklejohn, Camera
Lyn Noland, Camera
Mark Renaudin, Camera
Shaun Harkins, Camera
Jay Kulick, Camera
Paul Ranieri, Video Control
Ka-Lai Wong, Video Control

News Archives
December 2013

October 2013
September 2013
August 2013

June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
Culture Archive 2013