News Archives


September 24, 2012 - Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg and Media & Entertainment Commissioner Katherine Oliver congratulated the "Made in NY" winners honored at the the 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards.

"Tonight the 'Made in NY' Emmy winners have made our city proud, and I want to salute the achievements of everyone involved in the New York City-based productions that have been recognized by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at the 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards," said Mayor Bloomberg. "From the actors to the writers to the visual effects artists to the camera operators, 'Made in NY' Emmy winners represent a thriving production industry here in New York City. There are 130,000 New Yorkers who work in the city's entertainment industry, which contributes $7.1 billion to our local economy and supports 4,000 local businesses. That's reason to celebrate in and of itself."

"We applaud the successes of these 'Made in NY' Emmy winners," said Commissioner Oliver. "It's a testament to the marvelous accomplishments of our local production industry that so many television shows call New York City and employ our fellow New Yorkers. Last season, we had 23 series based here in the city, and this year we expect to be just as busy."

The Primetime Emmy Awards celebrate excellence in national primetime programming, awarding top honors at the annual creative arts and primetime awards ceremonies. "Made in NY" television productions won in a variety of categories at both ceremonies.

~ Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Outstanding Art Direction for a Single-Camera Series: Peg of Old/Battle of the Century/To the Lost
Bill Groom, Production Designer
Adam Scher, Art Director
Carol Silverman, Set Decorator

Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Supporting Role: Georgia Peaches
Dave Taritero, VFX Supervisor
Robert Stromberg, VFX Designer
Richard Friedlander, VFX Producer
Eran Dinur, VFX Supervisor
David W. Reynolds, Compositing Supervisor
Matthew Conner, Digital Matte Painter
Austin Meyers, Digital Compositor
Jonathan Dorfman, 3D Artist
Steve Kirshoff, Special Effects Supervisor

Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series: 21
Jonathan Freeman, Director of Photography

Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series: To The Lost
Tim Van Patten, Director

~ The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (Comedy Central)

Outstanding Variety Series

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series
Tim Carvell, Head Writer
Rory Albanese, Writer
Kevin Bleyer, Writer
Rich Blomquist, Writer
Steve Bodow, Writer
Wyatt Cenac, Writer
Hallie Haglund, Writer
JR Havlan, Writer
Elliott Kalan, Writer
Dan McCoy, Writer
Jo Miller, Writer
John Oliver, Writer
Zhubin Parang, Writer
Daniel Radosh, Writer
Jason Ross, Writer
Jon Stewart, Writer

~ Girls(HBO)

Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series
Jennifer Euston, CSA

~ The Good Wife (CBS)

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series
Martha Plimpton as Patti Nyholm

~ Louie (FX)

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series: Pregnant
Louis C.K., Written by

~ Louis C.K. Live At The Beacon Theatre (FX)

Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special
Louis C.K., Written by

~ Memphis on Great Performances (PBS)

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special
Steven Cimino, Technical Director
Paul J. Cangialosi, Camera
John Pinto, Camera
Chuck Goslin, Camera
Barry Frischer, Camera
Jeff Latonero, Camera
Len Wechsler, Camera
Susan Noll, Video Control
J.M. Hurley, Video Control

~ Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series
Jimmy Fallon as host

Outstanding Directing for a Variety Series: Mick Jagger, host
Don Roy King

Outstanding Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or Special: Zooey Deschanel, host
Bettie O. Rogers, Department Head Hairstylist
Jodi Mancuso, Key Hairstylist
Inga Thrasher, Hairstylist
Jennifer Stauffer, Hairstylist
Cara Hannah Sullivan, Hairstylist
Christal Schanes, Hairstylist

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Series: Mick Jagger, host
Steven Cimino, Technical Director
John Pinto, Camera
Paul J. Cangialosi, Camera
Len Wechsler, Camera
Barry Frischer, Camera
Susan Noll, Video Control
Frank Grisanti, Video Control

~ Sesame Street: Growing Hope Against Hunger (PBS)

Outstanding Children's Nonfiction, Reality or Reality-Competition Program
Carol-lynn Parente, Executive Producer
Melissa Dino, Supervising Producer
Mason Rather, Senior Producer
Kevin Clash, Producer

~ Smash (NBC)

Outstanding Choreography
Joshua Bergasse, Choreographer
Routines: National Pastime, Let's Be Bad, Never Met a Wolf

~ 65th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)

Outstanding Special Class Programs
Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer
Glenn Weiss, Executive Producer
Neil Patrick Harris, Producer/Host

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics
Adam Schlesinger, Music by
David Javerbaum, Lyrics by
Song: It's Not Just for Gays Anymore

Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming
Steve Bass, Production Designer
Seth Easter, Art Director

Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special
Glenn Weiss, Director

For more information about the 64th Annual Emmy Awards, visit
News Archives
Culture Archive 2012
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012