News Archives

Broadway Celebrates the 2011-2012 Theatre Season as Nominations Are Announced

Broadway Openings May 2, 2012 - As May begins, various theatrical organizations are poised to hand out their annual awards to the plays, musicals and revivals that have opened during the past season.

The 66th Annual Tony Awards will take place on June 10 at the Beacon Theatre. Nominations were announced on May 1 by Kristin Chenoweth and Jim Parsons. The nominees for Best Musical include: Leap of Faith, Newsies, Nice Work If You Can Get It and Once.

The Drama Desk Awards will be handed out on June 3 and looks to honor Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off Off-Broadway shows from the past season. Special awards will also be given to actress Mary Testa, actor Nick Westrate, the New Victory Theatre and playwright Stephen Karam.

The Drama League Awards, the oldest theatrical honors in the country, will take place on May 18 at the Marriott Marquis. Among the nominees for Distinguished Production of a Play are Clybourne Park; The Columnist; The Intelligent Homosexuals Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures; The Lyons; One Man, Two Guvnors; Other Desert Cities; Peter and The Starcatcher; Tribes; Seminar; Septimus and Clarrisa; and Venus in Fur.

The Lucille Lortel Awards will be given out on May 6 at the Skirball Center. Once, the musical which made its local debut at the New York Theatre Workshop, has received the most nominations, including: Outstanding Musical, Director, Lead Actress, Scenic Design, Lighting Design and Sound Design.

Also starting previews in May for a limited run is Harvey. Emmy winner Jim Parsons stars as the man with a best friend who is a rabbit no one else can see. Performances begin May 18 at Studio 54.

To learn more about these productions, visit
News Archives
Culture Archive 2012
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012