News Archives

Award Season Kicks Off for NYC's Theatre Community

May 2, 2011 - As May begins, the theatre community will honor the best and the brightest as the latest crop of awards is distributed.

The 65th Annual Tony Awards will be held on Sunday, June 12 at the Beacon Theatre. The recipients of several prestigious honors have already been announced. The Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be presented to playwright Athol Fugard and Philip J. Smith, Chairman of The Shubert Organization. The Isabelle Stevenson Award will be awarded to Eve Ensler, V-day founder and award-winning author of The Vagina Monologues. In addition, Bill Berloni, The Drama Book Shop, and Sharon Jensen and Alliance for Inclusion in the Arts will all receive the Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre award for their significant contributions to theatre and the arts. The ceremony will be broadcast on CBS at 8pm. Visit to learn more.

The Outer Critics Circle, made up of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town publications, have announced nominations for its awards in 23 categories. Winners will be unveiled on May 16 with the awards ceremony taking place on May 26. Special achievement awards will be given to Ellen Barkin for her Broadway debut in The Normal Heart and Adrian Kohler with Basil Jones for Handspring Puppet Design, Fabrication and Direction for War Horse. Visit for additional information.

The Drama Desk Awards will be handed out on May 23 from the Hammerstein Ballroom at the Manhattan Center. Hosted by Tony winner Harvey Fierstein, the ceremony, which awards outstanding productions and creative talent, will include musical numbers from nominated productions. The Drama Desk is an organization of professional theatre writers, editors and critics who cover professional theatre. To learn more, visit

Kathleen Turner will host the 77th Annual Drama League Awards, taking place on Friday, May 20 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square. The Drama League Awards honor the most distinguished performances and productions in musical theatre and directing. This year’s honorary recipients include Whoopi Goldberg for the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award, Liza Minnelli for the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, and Susan Stroman for the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing. Visit for additional details.
News Archives
Culture Archive 2011
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011