News Archives

Theatre Award Season Underway in May

May 10, 2010 - The 2010 New York theatre awards season is well underway. Nominees and special honors have already been announced for several prestigious theatrical awards.

The 64th Annual Tony Awards ceremony, which will be held at Radio City Music Hall on June 13, announced its nominations earlier this month. Playwright and director Sir Alan Ayckbourn and Tony Award-winning actress Marian Seldes will receive the Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Awards. Tony-Award winner David Hyde Pierce will be honored with the Isabelle Stevenson Award, which recognizes the philanthropic efforts of individuals in the theatre community.

Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey can now add a very special honor to their collection, after their Tony Award-winning rock musical Next to Normal won the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The musical depicting a woman’s difficulties with bi-polar disorder and depression is the first to win the award since Rent in 1996.

Recognizing excellence in Broadway and Off-Broadway productions, the 76th Annual Drama League Awards will take place on May 21. The ceremony will be co-hosted by Vanessa Williams and Michael Urie and includes nominations in the categories of Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and Distinguished Performance Award.

The 55th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be hosted by Patti LuPone on May 23 at Lincoln Center. The Drama Desk honors excellence in all areas of New York theatre. Award presenters will include Mitzi Gaynor, Michael Cerveris, Brooke Shields and Corbin Bleu.

News Archives
Culture Archive 2010
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010