FF Benefits/Salary | FF Application Process | FF Exam Info | FF Eligibility | FF FAQs
Those who applied to take the New York City Firefighter Exam (exam numbers 2000 and 2500), are required to fulfill the following eligibility requirements:
- Be at least 17 ½ years of age by the end of the application period and not have reached your 29th birthday by the beginning of the application period.
Age requirement EXCEPTIONS:
- Candidates remaining on the eligible list for Firefighter Exam Nos. #6019 and 6506 must not have reached their 36th birthday by the beginning of the application period to be eligible to take this examination. .
- Candidates on Special Military lists for Firefighter Exam No. 2043 in existence on or after July 22, 2009, must not have reached their 36th birthday by the beginning of the application period to be eligible to take this examination.
- All persons who were engaged in military duty as defined in Section 243 of the New York State Military Law (including candidates on the lists noted above) may deduct from their actual age the length of time spent in such military duty up to a maximum deduction of six years
To be hired as a New York City Firefighter, you must:
- Pass both the computer-based test and physical ability test;
- Be a U.S. citizen at the time of appointment;
- Be at least 21 years of age;
- Be able to prove your identity and the right to obtain employment in the United States under the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986;
- Meet established medical and psychological guidelines and pass a drug screening;
- Demonstrate proof of good character and pass a background investigation;
- Be able to understand and be understood in English;
- By the date of appointment, have a four year high school diploma or its educational equivalent and at least 15 college semester credits earned as a result of satisfactory completion of course work at a college or university accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education or; full time military service with an honorable discharge; or 6 months of full time, satisfactory paid work experience;
- Hold a valid New York State motor vehicle driver's license;
- Be a resident of one of the five boroughs of New York City, or live in Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk or Westchester County;
In addition, you will be required to be a Certified First Responder with Defibrillation (CFR-D) by the end of your probationary period. FDNY provides a CFR-D training program during the probationary Firefighter training course. Upon successful completion of FDNY's CFR-D course and receipt of our CFR-D certificate, payroll deductions will commence at a rate of $30 per pay period until the total cost of the training course is recouped by FDNY. Those who fail to obtain a CFR-D by the end of probation will be terminated.