
HAZARDOUS MATERIALS

Section 
of Law

ECB 
Computer 

Code

Violation 
Description

1st 
Offense 
Penalty

2nd 
Offense 
Penalty

Mitigating Factors (Cumulative) Aggravating Factor (Cumulative, up to a 
total penalty of $10,000) Default

24-609(b) AHZ1

Failed to comply 
with notification 
requirements upon 
release of 
hazardous 
substance

$4,000 $9,000 

1.Subtract $500, if telephone within 24 
hours.  Telephone notification shall be found 
where respondent provided DEP with all of 
the telephone notification requirements as 
provided in 15 RCNY 11-03(b) within 24 
hours of when respondent knows or has 
reason to know of a release.

1. Add $2,500, if release occurred within 1,000 
feet of any of the following:  residence district 
as defined by the New York City Zoning 
Resolution; school, highway, parkway or any 
other three lane roadway; environmentally 
sensitive area*; hazardous/toxic substance(s) 
industry/facility required to file under the New 
York City Community Right-to-know Law, Title 
24 Chapter 7 of the New York Administrative 
Code.

$10,000 

2. Subtract $500, if respondent did provide 
written notification.  Written notification shall 
be found where respondent provided DEP 
with all of the written notification 
requirements as provided in 15 RCNY 11-03 
(c).

2. Add $2,500, if amount of release was equal 
to or greater than twice the Reportable 
Quantity.

3. Subtract $1000, if began abating release 
within 3 hours of when respondent knew or 
had reason to know of a release.

3.Add $2,500, if release caused actual injury to 
wildlife and/or human health.

4.  Add $2,500 if willful or intentional release of 
the listed hazardous substance.

24-610(c) AHZ2

Willfully violated or 
failed or refused to 
comply with 
Commissioner’s 
Order

$3,000 $4,500 

1.  Subtract $1,000, if complied with that 
portion of Scope of Work Order relating to 
securing of premises/building.

1. Add $1,500, if failed to comply with that 
portion of Scope of Work Order relating to Bills 
of Lading and Hazardous Waste Manifests. $10,000 

2. Subtract $500, if complied with that 
portion of Scope of Work Order relating to 
identification of all hazardous substances. 

2. Add $1,500, if total non-compliance, i.e. 
failed to comply with any part of 
Commissioner’s Order. (In such cases, there 
could be no mitigating factors.)


