§3-111 Hazardous Materials Penalty Schedule

HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES EMERGENCY RESPONSE LAW PENALTY SCHEDULE
All citations, unless otherwise indicated are to the NYC Administrative Code.

A second violation is a violation by the same respondent of the same section of law with a date of
occurrence within three (3) years of the date of occurrence of the previous violation.

* The following shall be considered environmentally sensitive areas: wetlands and wetland buffer
areas; National and State parks; critical habitats for endangered and threatened plant and animal

species; wilderness and natural areas; marine sanctuaries; conservation areas; preserves;
wildlife areas; scenic, wild or recreational rivers; seashore and lakeshore recreational areas;
critical biological resource areas; National and State protected and critical environmental areas
(CEAS) as defined in 6 NYCRR Section 617.2(i).

SECTION/OFFENSE/ MITIGATING FACTORS AGGRAVATING FACTOR  DEFAULT
PENALTY (CUMULATIVE) (CUMULATIVE, UP TO A
TOTAL PENALTY OF
' $10,000)
24-609(b) 1.Subtract $500, if telephone 1. Add $2,500. if release $10,000
1% offense within 24 hours. Telephone occurred within 1,000 feet
Failed to comply with notification shall be found of any of the following:
notification where respondent provided residence district as defined
requirements upon DEP with all of the telephone by the New York City
release of hazardous notification requirements as Zoning Resolution; school,
substance provided in 15 RCNY 11- highway, parkway or any
$4,000 03(b) within 24 hours of when  other three lane roadway;
AHZ1 respondent knows or has environmentally sensitive
reason to know of a release. area*; hazardous/toxic
2. Subtract $500, if substance(s)
respondent did provide industry/facility required to
written notification. Written file under the New York City
notification shall be found Community Right-to-know
where respondent provided Law, Title 24 Chapter 7 of
DEP with all of the written the New York
notification requirements as Administrative Code.
provided in 15 RCNY 11-03 2. Add $2,500, if amount of
(c). release was equal to or
3. Subtract $1000, if began greater than twice the
abating release within 3 hours  Reportable Quantity.
of when respondent knew or  3.Add $2,500, if release
had reason to know of a caused actual injury to
release. wildlife and/or human
health.
4. Add $2,500 if willful or
intentional release of the
listed hazardous substance.
24-609(b) SAME AS ABOVE SAME AS ABOVE $10,000
2" Offense
$9,000
AHZA1
24-810(c) 1. Subtract $1,000, if 1. Add $1,500, if failed to $10,000



1% Offense

willfully violated or
failed or refused to
comply with
Commissioner’s Order
$3,000

AHZ2

24-610(c)
2™ Offense $4,500
AHZ2

complied with that portion of
Scope of Work Order relating
to securing of
premises/building.

2. Subtract $500, if complied
with that portion of Scope of
Work Order relating to
identification of all hazardous
substances.

SAME AS ABOVE

comply with that portion of
Scope of Work Order
relating to Bills of Lading
and Hazardous Waste
Manifests.

2. Add $1,500, if total non-
compliance, i.e. failed to
comply with any part of
Commissioner's Order. (In
such cases, there could be
no mitigating factors.)
SAME AS ABOVE

$10,000



