Students at Hillcrest High School in Queens
use theater to spread the word that drunk driving is unacceptable.
Designated Drivers are Holiday Heroes
The holidays are here and many New Yorkers will celebrate with a drink or two.
And there’s nothing wrong with that. But taking your holiday
cheer behind the wheel of a car puts you, your loved ones, and
other New Yorkers at risk for serious injuries and fatal crashes.
It was hard to miss seeing the consequences of drinking and driving this year. In late July a horrific crash on the Taconic State Parkway killed eight people. A 36-year-old mother, driving drunk and high, died, along with one of her own children, three of her nieces and three men in the oncoming car she slammed into. Then in October, 11-year-old Leandra Rosado was killed when the mother of one of her friends flipped her car on the Henry Hudson Parkway in Manhattan. The driver was charged with driving while intoxicated and vehicular manslaughter.
Beyond these high profile cases, courts in New York convicted 37,695 people for drunken driving last year, and nationwide in 2008 drunk drivers killed 11,773 people.
In the sober light of day, everyone agrees that drinking and driving is unacceptable. So how can we keep that resolve after a few drinks?
Make a plan before heading out for holiday celebrations.
We are lucky to live in the city with the best mass transit
system in America. Don't want to wait for a train or bus? There's
a yellow cab to be hailed or a black car just a phone call away.
A suggested plan: take your Metrocard, some extra cash for a car
at the end of the night, or enlist a friend as a designated
driver for the evening. Encourage your friends to do the same
and share the responsibility (and the cab fare!).
It's easier to stick to a plan you make while sober and not be tempted to chance it after a drink or two. Play it safe, make a plan, and don't drink and drive this holiday season.
Leandra’s Law: In Effect December 18
On November 18th Governor Patterson signed "Leandra's Law," which became effective
on December 18, 2009. According to the new law, a person who
drives intoxicated by alcohol or impaired by drugs with a child
fifteen years old or younger in the vehicle may be arrested.
This crime is a felony that is punishable by a prison sentence
of 16 months to four years.
Click here for more information on recent changes to Driving While Intoxicated legislation.
Download our DWI penalty card in English.
For DWI penalty cards in Chinese, Urdu, Korean, Polish, Russian or Spanish, click here.
Forward this email to a friend and tell them to sign up for monthly safety tips from DOT's Office of Safety Education, at: www.nyc.gov/dotnews.
DOT Safety Education Events
Free Car Seat Check
Is your child car seat installed properly? Nine out of ten car seats are not. Find out if yours is.
Saturday, January 9
11 am - 3 pm
Saturday, February 13
11 am - 3 pm
Chevrolet Cadillac of Harlem, 2485 Second Avenue in
Manhattan at 127 Street
A trained car seat technician will check your seat
and demonstrate correct installation. No appointment
If you cannot attend this event, call 311 for an appointment
for a free child car seat inspection at a DOT Fitting
Station. Please note that we cannot accept walk-ins.
Car seat checks are done by appointment Mondays - Fridays
at all DOT inspection stations.
DOT Child Car Seat Fitting Station locations can be
For a complete list of events, see NYCDOT's event calendar.