Information for Providers
New Health Code Requirements for Group Child Care Centers
⚠ Product Recalls by the US Government
⚠ West Nile Virus Spraying & Aerial Larvicide
Child Care Centers (Non-residential)
Provide care for groups of 3 or more children under 6 years
of age for 5 or more hours each week. Care must be provided for more than 30 days in a 12-month period. Regulated by Article 47 (PDF) of the New York City Health Code.
back to top
Home-based Child Care
How to become a registered Family Day Care or licensed Group Family Day Care Provider
There are many requirements that must be met in order to register as a home-based child care provider, such as:
- A minimum age requirement of 18 years or older
- A minimum experience requirement of two years working with children (family or otherwise)
- Staff requirements such as health statements, clearances for child abuse by the Statewide Central Register, and criminal history review
- A home that meets safety requirements including two means of egress
For a complete list of all the requirements that must be met and complied with, please consult the provider handbooks and regulations found below.
To request an application package that includes the identification number required for processing,
visit New York State's Online Permit Assistance and Licensing website or contact the Bureau of Child Care in your borough.
Orientation sessions are provided by the Bureau of Child Care for new applicants on a regular basis at locations throughout the City. These sessions provide an overview of the regulations, helpful tips on completing the application and ideas on obtaining help from other organizations. Only those who have submitted the application booklet may attend.
To register for a session, please call the borough office in which you will apply to operate, and provide your full name, mailing address, daytime telephone number, and the number on the front of your application booklet. Attendance is optional however advance registration is required.
Family Day Care
Provide care for 3 to 6 children plus two additional school-age children at a time in a residence. There must be a caregiver for every two infants in care. The maximum number of children allowed depends on whether a provider is approved to care for two additional school-age children. Regulated by New York State Social Services Law Section 390, Part 417.
back to top
Group Family Day Care
Provide care for 7 to 12 children plus four additional school-age children at a time in a residence. There must be a caregiver for every two infants in care. The maximum number of children allowed depends on whether a provider is approved to care for four additional school-age children. Regulated by New York State Social Services Law Section 390, Part 416.
Preventing Lead Poisoning Prevention in Home-based Child Care
Training requirements for Home-based Child Care Providers
back to top
School-age Child Care Programs (After-school)
Provide care for more than six children from kindergarten through age 12 during non-school hours including school vacation periods and holidays. Regulated by New York State Social Services Law Section 390,
School-based Child Care Programs
Provide programs of instruction for children ages three through five that are located within a school, or that are part of a school. Regulated by Article 43 (PDF) of the New York City Health Code.
School-based child care programs must submit a Notice of Filing to the NYC Health Department. Filing form must include at least one of the following for the program, which are available at the NYC Department of Education website, to be subject to
- New York City Department of Education Approval of Curriculum
- New York State Board of Regents Registration
- New York City/State Department of Education issued charter
- New York State Department of Education Basic Education Data System (B.E.D.S.) number
- Article 43 School-based Pre-school Instructional Program Notice of Filing
back to top
Last Updated: February 5, 2013