Translate This Page Print This Page Email a Friend Newsletter Sign-Up
Text Size : Sm Med Lg

Sample Image
New York City's Pesticide Neighbor Notification: Local Law 36

New York City has joined eight other New York State counties in an effort to prevent unwanted pesticide exposure by adopting the State’s Pesticide Neighbor Notification Law (PDF). Local Law 36, which takes effect on January 1, 2006, requires that commercial lawn pesticide applicators give neighbors written notice 48 hours before spraying certain pesticides, and requires that homeowners who use lawn pesticides post warning signs around their property. The goal of the Pesticide Neighbor Notification Law is to minimize exposure to hazardous pesticides. With advanced warning, residents can take steps to avoid unintentional exposures by closing windows, bringing toys and pets inside, and covering garden, furniture and play equipment.

Who is Affected by Local Law 36?

Commercial pesticide applicators need to provide neighbors with written notice 48 hours in advance of lawn pesticide applications. More information can be found in the fact sheet Local Law 36 for Commercial Applicators (PDF)

Owners of residential buildings with three or more units and owners of other publicly accessible buildings must receive advance notice by commercial lawn care pesticide applicators prior to making pesticide applications on any abutting properties. The owners are then responsible for distributing the notice to building occupants 24 hours in advance of the scheduled application. More information can be found in the fact sheet Local Law 36 for Building Owners (PDF) [En Español]

Homeowners now need to post warning signs on their property at the time of application of lawn care pesticides. More information can be found in the fact sheet Local Law 36 for Homeowners (PDF) [En Español]

Retail stores selling lawn care pesticides must post consumer information signs that describe the requirements for notifying neighbors. More information can be found in the fact sheet Local Law 36 for Retailers (PDF)

Template
Other Resources