Email a Friend Translate This Page Printer Friendly Text Size: Small Medium Large
NYC Office of Actuary NYC Department for the Aging
Senior Advisory Council

The Older Americans Act and the New York City Charter both require the establishment of an Advisory Council to advise the Department for the Aging and its Commissioner. DFTA’s Advisory Council consists of 31 members, at least 16 of whom are recipients of services for the elderly. Council members also include representatives from the social services, health and academic communities and from New York’s major neighborhoods. Ten members (two from each borough) are recommended by the City Council. All members are appointed by the Mayor and serve without compensation for three-year terms.

Council Members

  • Michael Adams
  • Isabel Ching
  • Doralina Cólon
  • Carol Dunn
  • David Gillcrist
  • Claire Hall
  • Jennifer Jones Austin
  • Gladys Joyner
  • Evelyn Laureano
  • Hattie Lucas
  • Katherine Martinez
  • Zamira Setaro
  • Marcia Stein
  • Eartha Thompson-Washington
  • Gloria Lind Vanterpool
  • Nancy Wackstein
  • Rabbi Moshe Wiener
  • Doris Williams
Meeting Agenda/Minutes

Advisory Council Meeting Agenda (in PDF)
Advisory Council Minute (in PDF)