NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
Flickr Flickr
Follow @NYCPlanning on Twitter Twitter
City Planning:


Take me to...
Commission Meetings
Commission Reports
Census FactFinder
LUCATS - Land Use
Application Tracking
ZoLa - Zoning and Land Use Application
Community Portal
Waterfront Access Map
Zoning Map Finder
Map & Bookstore
Job Opportunities
Press Releases
DCP Site Map
Contact DCP


Click Once to Submit Query


Translate this page
About Us > Commission Information Printer Friendly Version

Betty Y. Chen, Commissioner

photo of Betty ChenBetty Y. Chen is an architect in New York City.  As Vice President for Planning, Design and Preservation at the Trust for Governors Island, she oversaw the planning for the redevelopment of Governors Island in New York Harbor.  Prior to joining the Trust, Ms. Chen was with the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation where she was responsible for the development of the World Trade Center Master Plan and various other planning projects in Lower Manhattan. 

As a former Project Architect with Tod Williams and Billie Tsien Architects, she has extensive experience in design, project management, and construction administration.  In 1993 she won the competition to design the San Jose Veterans’ Memorial along with her partners in Manhattan Projects.  The memorial was built in a public park in downtown San Jose and dedicated in 1997.  From 2000 – 2005, Ms. Chen served on the Public Art Network Council advising on issues in the field of Public Art. 

Ms. Chen is co-chair of the NYC American Institute of Architects Design Awards Committee. She has taught in the art history and architecture departments at Yale University and served on numerous design juries. In 2010, she was appointed to the New York City Charter Revision Commission.

Ms. Chen holds a Masters degree in Architecture from Yale University, a Bachelors degree from Harvard University, and a Commercial Horticulture certificate from the New York Botanical Garden.  She is a registered architect in the State of New York.

Carl Weisbrod, Chair
Kenneth J. Knuckles, Esq., Vice Chairman

Angela M. Battaglia
Rayann Besser
Irwin G. Cantor, P.E.
Alfred C. Cerullo, III
Betty Y. Chen
Michelle de la Uz
Maria M. Del Toro
Joseph Douek
Richard W. Eaddy
Anna Hayes Levin
Orlando Marín

Return to Commission Information page






Copyright 2016 The City of New York Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use