NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
Flickr Flickr
Follow @NYCPlanning on Twitter Twitter
City Planning:


Take me to...
Commission Meetings
Commission Reports
Census FactFinder
LUCATS - Land Use
Application Tracking
ZoLa - Zoning and Land Use Application
Community Portal
Waterfront Access Map
Zoning Map Finder
Map & Bookstore
Job Opportunities
Press Releases
DCP Site Map
Contact DCP


Click Once to Submit Query


Translate this page
About Us > Commission Information Printer Friendly Version

Rayann Besser, Commissioner

photo of Rayann Besser

Rayann Besser was appointed in May 2009 to the City Planning Commission by Staten Island Borough President James P. Molinaro.  She was reappointed in 2011.

Ms. Besser is a life-long resident of Staten Island and has been involved in the real estate field for over fifteen years.  She is a New York State Licensed Real Estate Associate Broker with Robert DeFalco Realty in Staten Island, where she has been involved in a wide range of land development, including residential, commercial and retail projects.  She received SIBOR Top Producer Sales Awards for many years as well as SIBOR's 2011 Realtor Associate of the Year and Robert Defalco Realty's #1 Sales Producer Award 2010.

Ms. Besser served as a Director of the Staten Island Board of Realtors Multiple Listing Service Board of Governors (SIMLS), and Chair of the Commercial Real Estate Committee of the Staten Island Economic Development Corporation (S.I.E.D.C.) which implemented a commercial real estate website,, in conjunction with the SIMLS.  She also served on the Attorney Task Force, Professional Standards Committee, Appraisal Committee and Rules Committees of the Staten Island Board of Realtors.  She is also certified as a Seniors Real Estate Specialist. REALTORS® who carry the Seniors Real Estate Specialist® (SRES®) designation are specially qualified to address the real estate needs of those ages 50+.

Ms. Besser’s experiences in the Real Estate industry have afforded her the opportunity to see the uniqueness of the City and neighborhoods first hand, appreciate the preservation of neighborhood character and economic opportunities.  

Carl Weisbrod, Chair
Kenneth J. Knuckles, Esq., Vice Chairman

Rayann Besser
Irwin G. Cantor, P.E.
Alfred C. Cerullo, III
Cheryl Cohen Effron
Michelle de la Uz
Joseph Douek
Richard W. Eaddy
Hope Knight
Anna Hayes Levin
Orlando Marín
Larisa Ortiz

Return to Commission Information page










Copyright 2016 The City of New York Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use