NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
Flickr Flickr
Follow @NYCPlanning on Twitter Twitter
City Planning:


Take me to...
Commission Meetings
Commission Reports
Census FactFinder
LUCATS - Land Use
Application Tracking
ZoLa - Zoning and Land Use Application
Community Portal
Waterfront Access Map
Zoning Map Finder
Map & Bookstore
Job Opportunities
Press Releases
DCP Site Map
Contact DCP


Click Once to Submit Query


Translate this page
About Us > City Planning Awards Printer Friendly Version

City Planning Awards

Each year, the Department of City Planning honors staff members who have demonstrated outstanding creativity, dedication and innovation. We are proud of the City Planning professionals who plan for the future of New York City and make us deserving of recognition.

2011 2010

2010 Awards
2010 Awards

Barney Rabinow Award
An early proponent of citizen participation in the planning process, Barney Rabinow was a mentor to scores of new planners in the 1960s and 1970s. The award named in his honor recognizes new employees in all disciplines of the Department who by outstanding performance have consistently demonstrated creativity in their work and potential for future growth and personal development.

2010 Recipients:

Adam Meagher - Manhattan Office
Anida Murati - Information Technology Division
Basha Estroff - Technical Review Division
Benjamin Singer - Technical Review Division
Chris Hayner - Zoning Division
Dekka Michael - Transportation Division
Erica Alario - Transportation Division
Frank Ruchala - Manhattan Office
Ian Hegarty - Queens Office
Juton Horstman - Bronx Office
Khalilah Stewart - Staten Island Office
Laura Smith - Housing, Economic and Infrastructure Planning
Lish Whitson - Brooklyn Office
Parul Agarwala - Zoning Division
Ralph Blessing - Brooklyn Office
Reza Tehranifar - Planning Coordination Division
Thomas Smith - Queens Office
Tina Vultaggio - Staten Island Office
Vineeta Mathur - Bronx Office
Vlad Bogdanets - Geographic Systems

Outstanding Service Award
This award recognizes employees whose outstanding performance over the past year has made an appreciable contribution to the Department's work program.

2010 Recipients:

Cheryl Johnson - Transportation
Diane McCarthy - Environmental Review Division
Elizabeth Kays - Staten Island Office
Erika Sellke - Manhattan Office
Jennifer Jensen - Housing, Economic and Infrastructure Planning
Luis Falcon - Fiscal
Skye Duncan - Urban Design
Steven Lenard - Brooklyn Office
Wesley O’Brien - Counsel

Michael Weil Award
Bestowed upon a Department of City Planning employee for excellence in the pursuit of urban design in the public sector. This award recognizes an employee’s achievement in urban design through project management, policy enactment, design guidelines, or otherwise significant contributions to the public realm.

2010 Recipients:

Jeffrey Shumaker - Urban Design

Rita Barrish Award
Beginning in 1952, Rita Barrish served the Department of City Planning in numerous capacities. In her role as Director of Education Planning, she served with loyalty, enthusiasm, and considerable warmth. To honor her memory, this award is given to those who have contributed to the Department through the years at a consistently high level of performance.

2010 Recipients:

Joseph Salvo - Population Division

Special Project Award:

Comprehensive Coney Island Plan


Copyright 2016 The City of New York Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use