Department of Cultural Affairs NYCulture City of New York Department of Cultural Affairs NYCulture City of New York

About Cultural Affairs

1896 - 1964  |  1965 - 1980  |  1982 - 1995   |  1998 - 2007

1982 -   Prior to 1982,
Program funding is determined by DCLA; beginning in FY1982 line items are introduced into the Executive Budget.

Under Mayor Koch, The Percent for Art Law is enacted, which requires that one percent of the
budget for eligible City-funded construction is dedicated to creating public artworks. The
Public Art Fund administers this program from its inception until 1986, when the program moves
to DCLA.

1983 -   Mayor Koch
appoints Bess Myerson Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

1984 -   DCLA
receives matching funds from NEA to administer the Greater New York Arts Development Fund, providing local arts councils funds to re-grant to emerging arts groups.

1985 -   First Percent
for Art commission is completed: Jorge
Rodriguez’s Growth at East Harlem Artpark.

1986 -   After Extensive City Involvement,
New York Hall of Science is reorganized and reopens as a state-of-the-art, hands-on science and technology center.

DCLA creates a uniform Public Service Award proposal procedure for Program Unit funding.

1987 -   Mayor Koch
appoints Diane M. Coffey Acting Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

Mary Schmidt Campbell is appointed the next
permanent Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

Two program funding processes
are initiated for organizations not named in the City’s Adopted Budget: Arts Development Fund (awards recommended to the agency by joint agreement of Borough President and City Council) and Program Development Fund (awards based on competitive, peer panel review process).

1990 -   Mayor David N. Dinkins
appoints Luis R. Cancel Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

1994 -   Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani
appoints Schuyler G. Chapin Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

1995 -   The City’s Corporation Counsel
determines that funds provided by DCLA can be administered as grants, rather than contracts, thus

1896 - 1964  |  1965 - 1980  |  1982 - 1995  |  1998 - 2007