NYC's new Paid Sick Leave Law applies to most employees in NYC and is now in effect. Employees can start using earned sick leave on July 30, 2014.
If you work in NYC for more than 80 hours a year, you can earn up to 40 hours of sick leave each year to care for yourself or a family member.
If you are an employer, including a nonprofit or small business, you must provide:
• Paid sick leave if you have 5 or more employees who work in NYC or unpaid sick
leave if you have fewer than 5 employees.
• 2 days of paid sick leave to domestic workers who have worked for you for more
than 1 year. This leave is in addition to the 3 days of paid rest to which
domestic workers are entitled under New York State Labor Law.
Get more information for domestic workers and their employers here.
Read additional FAQs.
TRAININGS AND EVENTS
Visit our Event Calendar for paid sick leave trainings and events that are open to the public.
Interested in scheduling a training for your organization? Email us
Download DCA's training presentations
Full version in English: PDF or PPTX
Brief version in English: PDF or PPTX
Brief version in Español (Spanish): PDF or PPTX
Brief version in 中文 (Chinese): PDF or PPTX
Brief version in 한국어 (Korean): PDF or PPTX
Note: To access PPTX, you must use PowerPoint 2007 or later version.
LAW, RULES, AND LEGAL INTERPRETATIONS
To access New York City’s Paid Sick Leave Law, click the links below:
Read Local Law 46 of 2013
Read Local Law 6 of 2014
Read Local Law 7 of 2014
DCA held a public hearing on April 29, 2014 on proposed Rules to clarify provisions in the “Earned Sick Time Act” (Paid Sick Leave Law). Monitor this page for final Rules.
Domestic workers can submit a sick leave complaint to DCA.
Contact DCA in one of the following ways:
Call 311 (212-NEW-YORK outside NYC)
Employers can also use DCA’s online Live Chat for businesses (You will be redirected to the Business Toolbox page.) Live Chat is available from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
PUBLIC EDUCATION AND OUTREACH CAMPAIGN