
 
NEW YORK CITY CHILD CARE TAX CREDIT 

FAST FACTS   
*Contact the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance for additional information.* 

 
NEW FOR TAX YEAR 2007: New York City Child Care Tax Credit 
On August 2, 2007, Governor Eliot Spitzer signed into law New York City’s Child Care Tax Credit—a key 
recommendation of Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg’s Commission for Economic Opportunity.  The tax credit is designed 
to assist families with low incomes or who are underemployed with the cost of child care for children under the age of 
four.  It is estimated that up to 49,000 New York City families will qualify for this benefit.  
 
Who can claim the New York City Child Care Tax Credit? 
To claim the New York City Child Care Tax Credit, a filer must: 
 

 qualify to claim the New York State Child and Dependent Care Credit 
 

 have paid qualified expenses for the care of a qualifying child(ren) under age 4 on December 31, 2007—and be 
able to provide supporting records/documentation for reported expenses 

 

 have federal adjusted gross income of $30,000 or less 
 

 have been a full-year or part-year resident of New York City for 2007 
 
See reverse side for qualifications to claim the federal and state Child and Dependent Care Credits.  Please note: Filers 
who have an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) are eligible to claim these credits.  ITINs are also 
acceptable for qualifying child(ren).  Below is additional important information about these credits. 
 

 *Federal Tax Credit *State Tax Credit City Tax Credit 
Income Cap None None $30,000 
Qualifying Child(ren) Up to (but not including) 

age 13 
 
Must have lived with the 
claimant for more than 6 
months. 
 
Claimable for the tax year  
up to the point the child(ren) 
turned 13. 
 

Up to (but not including) 
age 13 
 
Must have lived with the 
claimant for more than 6 
months. 
 
Claimable for the tax year 
up to the point the child(ren) 
turned 13. 

Up to (but not including) 
age 4 
 
Must have lived with the 
claimant for more than 6 
months. 
 
Not claimable at all during 
the tax year the child(ren) 
turned 4.  
 
*However, filers can still 
claim the federal and state 
tax credits. 

Refundable? No Yes Yes 
Maximum Tax Credit Up to $2,100 Up to $2,310 Up to $1,733 
Tax Forms 
 
Note: ITINs are acceptable 
for the filer and qualifying 
child(ren). 

Form 1040, Form 1040A, or 
Form 1040NR 
 
Ineligible: Form 1040EZ 

New York Form IT-150, 
IT-201, or IT-203 
 
IT-216 (including required 
provider information— 
line 2); SEE REVERSE 

New York Form IT-150, 
IT-201, or IT-203 
 
IT-216 (including required 
provider information— 
line 2); SEE REVERSE 

*The federal and state tax credit also includes qualified expenses for the care of qualifying dependents other than children. 
 
What child care expenses qualify for the credit? 
Qualified expenses include amounts paid out of pocket for the care of a qualifying child(ren) and household services 
related to the care of a qualifying child(ren).  Filers should refer to IRS Publication 503 for qualified expenses.  Non-
qualified Expenses: Child support payments, expenses reimbursed by a state social service agency, aid subsidies. 



QUALIFICATIONS TO CLAIM THE FEDERAL CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE TAX CREDIT: 
 

 Filing status is single, head of household, qualifying widow(er) with a dependent child, or married filing jointly. 
 

 Filer (or spouse, if filing a joint return) has earned income. 
 

 Reported expenses are for the care of a qualifying child(ren) under the age of 13 who lived with the filer for more 
than 6 months.  (Refer to IRS Instructions for Form 2441 for additional qualifying persons to claim this credit.  
Qualifying persons include a spouse who is disabled and not able to care for himself or herself and any person 
with a disability not able to care for himself or herself whom you can claim as a dependent.) 

 
 The paid care provider is not a spouse, the parent of the qualifying child(ren) under 13, or a person the filer can 

claim as a dependent. 
 

 Filer reports required information about the care provider and qualifying child(ren). 
 
QUALIFICATIONS TO CLAIM THE NEW YORK STATE CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE TAX CREDIT: 
 

 Filing status is single, head of household, qualifying widow(er) with a dependent child, or married filing jointly. 
 

 Filer (or spouse, if filing a joint return) has earned income. 
 

 Reported expenses are for the care of a qualifying child(ren) under the age of 13 who lived with the filer for more 
than 6 months.  (Refer to the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance’s Instructions for Form IT-216 
for additional qualifying persons to claim this credit.  Qualifying persons include a spouse who is disabled and not 
able to care for himself or herself and any person with a disability not able to care for himself or herself whom 
you can claim as a dependent.) 

 
 The paid care provider is not a spouse, the parent of the qualifying child(ren) under 13, or a person the filer can 

claim as a dependent. 
 
REQUIRED PROVIDER INFORMATION: 
 
Filers must identify all persons or organizations that provide care for a qualifying child(ren), including: 
 

 Provider’s Name 
 Provider’s Address 
 Provider’s Taxpayer Identification Number or Social Security Number 

 
Filers should use Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification and Certification, to request required information 
from the child care provider(s). 
 
Filers should keep and maintain records as proof of reported expenses. 
 
Note: Ineligible providers include a filer’s spouse, the parent of the qualifying child(ren), any person a filer can claim as a 
dependent, or a child under age 19, even if the child is not a dependent. 
 
 

*** 
 
 

The Department of Consumer Affairs’ Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) is the first program to be implemented under 
the Center for Economic Opportunity as part of Mayor Bloomberg’s aggressive efforts to fight poverty in New York City.  

DCA’s OFE is the first local government initiative in the nation with a mission aimed expressly at helping to educate, 
empower, and protect those with low incomes so they can build assets and make the most of their financial resources.  For 

more information about DCA’s OFE, visit www.nyc.gov/consumers 


