True Stories

照料者中心幫助了許多有需要的照料者,以下是幾個成功的例子:

羅斯(Rose)的丈夫在八年前中風,之後羅斯在家盡力照顧中風的丈夫。羅斯在幫助丈夫沐浴和更衣時感到有困難,然而,讓陌生人幫助自己照顧丈夫令羅斯感到內疚不安。在繁忙沉重的照料生活中,羅斯忘記了自我。雖然身體欠佳,卻沒有時間去看醫生。羅斯的兒子十分擔心母親的身體健康。

後來,羅斯的兒子說服母親求助于照料者資源中心,找到社區內的有關機構,幫助他們設定照護計劃。依照計劃,羅斯雇用了一位有經驗的家務護理員,幫忙照顧丈夫。羅斯的壓力減輕了,也可以按時看醫生,調養身體。


Inez是兩個學齡孩子的母親,在過往五年中,照顧年長的父親。盡力滿足各家庭成員的需要令Inez覺得筋疲力盡,失去自我空間。

Inez 致電到至一個照料者資源中心,向社工傾訴內心苦惱及服務需要。社工根據情況,介紹其父親加入了一家日間活動中心。每星期參加三次,Inez因此獲得多一些的自由時間。Inez也參加了互助支持小組, 在小組聚會中,Inez有機會表達自己的感受,分享想法,獲得肯定和支持。


R先生和87歲的太太住進了協助性生活住房,原因是87歲的太太患有阿滋海默症(又稱老人痴呆症),並且病情日漸惡化。R先生現年89歲,因年邁而不可以繼續獨自照顧妻子。在照料者資源中心的社工的探訪中,R先生傾訴了內心的痛苦失望和擔憂。社工了解R先生的情況後,為R先生解釋了照料者資源中心可以為他提供的系列服務,服務包括- 資訊和轉介、單獨支援輔導、照料者訓練和互助支持小組、福利和權益協助服務,及有限的舒援服務。他們互相交換了電話號碼,社會工作者建議R先生與照料者資源中心保持聯繫。

在往後的五個月,R先生通過照料者資源中心接受了不少的服務。 社工發現R先生和其他的照護者一樣健康上有問題,在社工的鼓勵下,R先生接受了血糖水平的評估和相關的治療。R先生同時接受了詳細的心理評估和幫助治療他的憂鬱症的個人輔導和其他有效治療。為了讓R先生有更多的行動自由, 得到足夠的調息和休息,照料者資源中心為他安排了每週4小時的舒援服務。在情況好轉穩定之後,R先生表達想和太太多參加戶外活動。根據實際情況,社工安排了R先生的太太參加了每星期二舉行的阿滋海默症日間中心活動。R先生則在中心參與了其他 為長者而設的活動。

目前, R先生表達對長期財務計劃上的興趣。同時,還在考慮是否移居到南部,女兒居所附近,以便讓女兒照顧兩老。在上星期,R先生和太太剛慶祝了他們的第64個結婚週年。不論他們的未來 計劃如何,也不管R先生和太太會否在中心慶祝他們的第65 週年紀念,照料者資源中心也將依然盡力為兩老服務,隨時為他們排憂解難


L女士是一位52 歲的單身女士,第一次與照料者資源中心接觸是在2003年的3月。那時,她正為要照顧她患有晚期失智症的母親的每日所需而竭盡全力,身心疲憊。

L女士本身也有病,她的身體機能逐漸退化和行動上也有問題。她無法找到長期固定的工作,只能每天做零工賺錢養家。在最初接觸的時候,她沒有任何健康保險和無法出外就醫。

照料者資源中心提供了個案管理、舒援服務, 資訊和個人輔導,並且幫助L女士透過醫補助計劃,為母親申請到24 小時的家庭護理 服務。通過中心的幫助,L女士參加了照料者訓練班,從而提高照顧母親的技巧。L女士還加入了同輩互助支持小組活動,積極分享感受,獲益良多。中心的社工協助了L女士獲得健康保險和有限的應急基金。在照料者資源中心的支持下,L女士和她的母親可以維持較為穩定的生活。


另一類照料者資源中心,專門為照顧孫兒女的祖父母而提供服務。Mary是照料她8 歲的孫子Adam的祖母。在1999 年,Adam的母親Nikki 死於癌症。在Nikki 過身之前,她的母親Mary成為Adam的備用監護人。當Nikki去世後,照料者資源中心為這家庭提供了系列服務,包括哀悼的評估和失去親人後的心理治療。Adam因此對母親的去世有所接受,有較平衡 的心理。Adam在Nikki生前曾開心見誠地與她討論過生死的意義,當時祖母Mary也在場。Adam參與了計劃安排母親的葬禮,之後也可以與祖母談論關於他母親的事情。

另外,在照料資源中心的協助下,Adam獲得了所需的服務,包括把租約轉到祖母名下,保證Adam可以繼續居有定所,和生活穩定。雖然Nikki的死亡對整個家庭造成 了創傷,但透過哀悼治療,Mary與Adam現在可以化悲憤為力量,勇敢迎接未來的新生活。


Joan 是一個65 歲的照料者,為她的三個年齡分別為11, 12, 和13歲的孫子提供照護 。自從12 和13歲孫子出生後,她便一直照顧他們。在12月,在 孩子們母親過世後,Joan也開始為11歲的孩子提供照護。Joan本身有憂鬱症,高血壓、糖尿病及關節炎,照料者資源中心 因此協助Joan起草她的遺囑,為孫子們安排後備照料者。在起草遺囑的過程中,Joan 透露了有關育孫過程中所遇到的困難,Joan擔心進入青少年期的孫子們會像她當年的子女一樣,因想獨立而變得反叛,難以管教。照料者資源中心的社工明白到Joan的擔心,幫助她面對焦慮和挫敗感,為她定下了一個照顧孫子的妥善計劃。這樣,如果Joan的身體不允許她作為孫子們的主要照護者,她也不用太擔心了。

True Stories

The stories listed below are true – they are just a few examples of how the Caregiver Support Centers have already helped people just like you!

Rose has been caring for her husband since he had a stroke 8 years ago. She hasn't been to a doctor in years. Although she is having more trouble bathing and dressing her husband, she feels uncomfortable about letting strangers do this. Now Rose's son is worried about her health.

When Rose and her son spoke to a social worker at one of the Caregiver Resource Centers, she helped them locate a neighborhood agency which worked with the family on a care plan. Rose hired an experienced home attendant who helps with her husband's care. Rose is also regularly seeing a doctor in her neighborhood.


Inez, a mother of two young school-aged children, has been caring for her elderly father for five years. She has trouble balancing the needs of all family members.

When Inez called one of the Caregiver Resource Center's, she spoke with a social worker who listened. Her father is now attending a day program three afternoons a week. He enjoys the program and Inez gains some free time. Inez also joined a caregiver support group where she's able to express her feelings, shares ideas, and gets the understanding she needs.


Mr. R first approached the Caregiver Resource Center on a hot September afternoon, when one of its' social workers came to visit the assisted living facility where Mr. R lives. In tears, Mr. R related how he simply could not "adjust" to life at the facility. The social worker took Mr. R aside to speak more privately. In a cool corner of the community room, Mr. R shared how, at the age of 89, he came to find himself living at this facility and assuming the role of primary caregiver for his 87-year-old wife. Mrs. R suffers from Alzheimer's and Mr. R had become increasingly saddened both by her decline and their departure from their home of 32 years. After listening to Mr. R's frustrations, the social worker explained to Mr. R the services that the Caregiver Resource Center provided - information and referral, supportive individual counseling, caregiver trainings and support groups, assistance with benefits and entitlements, and limited respite care. The two exchanged phone numbers and the social worker informed Mr. R that the Caregiver Resource Center would be in touch.

Over the next five months Mr. R accessed an increasingly broader range of services through the Caregiver Resource Center. Numerous home visits between the Center and Mr. R revealed that, as with many care givers, Mr. R's health was of primary concern. The Center's social worker encouraged and eventually assisted Mr. R in arranging a doctor's appointment to assess his fluctuating blood sugar levels. With Mr. R's active participation, the social worker referred Mr. R to GMHOS (Mental Health Services) so that he could receive more focused counseling and treatment for his depression. In order to allow Mr. R greater freedom of movement and a rest from the strain of care giving, the Caregiver Resource Center instituted respite care for 4 hours, once a week. As the situation stabilized and unfolded, Mr. R expressed increasing interest in finding engaging activities for his wife and himself outside of the assisted living facility. The social worker therefore facilitated Mrs. R's admittance into an Alzheimer's day program, 2 days a week. At the site of the day program, Mr. R was able to participate in other activities offered for seniors.

Presently, Mr. R has begun to express interest in long term financial planning, even as his daughter encourages her parents to move a number of states south so that she might better care for them. Mr. and Mrs. R celebrated their 64th wedding anniversary this past week. Whatever their future plans - regardless of where Mr. and Mrs. R will celebrate their 65th anniversary - the Caregiver Resource Center will remain a resource for them as they continue on the caregiver's journey.


Ms. L. is a 52-year-old single female who first contacted one of the Caregiver Resource Center's in March of 2003. At that time, she was struggling to care for her elderly mother who suffers from advanced dementia and requires total assistance with her daily living needs.

Ms. L is ill herself. She has a degenerative condition and her ambulation is impaired. She is unable to secure long term, permanent employment and works per diem. At the time of the initial contact, she did not have any health insurance and was unable to attend to her own medical needs.

The Caregiver Resource Center provided case management, respite care, information and supportive counseling and helped Ms. L obtain 24-hour home care for her mother through Medicaid. Ms. L. receives ongoing caregiver training and group support through the Center, learning how to better care for her mother and participating in a peer mutual support group. The Center program also assisted her in securing health insurance for her own health care and has provided emergency funds during crises to pay for food, transportation, legal fees and utility bills.

With the support of the Caregiver Resource Center, Ms. L has been able to sustain a much more stable living situation for her mother and herself.


The Family Center (TFC), which specializes in working with Grandparents raising grandchildren, is working with Mary, a grandmother caring for her 8 year old grandson, Adam. Adam's mother Nikki died of cancer in 1999. Prior to Nikki's death, she made her mother Mary the standby guardian for Adam. When Nikki died, TFC worked with the family through the adjustment period. We conducted a grief and loss assessment with the family, specifically for Adam. Adam is adjusting well to the loss of his mother. Prior to her death, Nikki had an open and honest discussion with Adam about her dying and what death meant. Mary was present during these discussions. Adam wanted and was allowed to participate in the planning of his mother's funeral and feels free to talk with his grandmother about his mother.

Additionally, we worked with the family in accessing entitlements on Adam's behalf including the transferring of the lease to Mary to ensure continuity for Adam in terms of his home life. Although the death of Nikki was traumatic for the entire family, our work with them during the grief and adjustment period has been instrumental in helping both Mary and Adam cope with their newly configured family.


Joan is the 65 year old caregiver for her three grandchildren ages 11, 12, and 13. She has been caring for the 12 and 13 year olds since they were born and for the 11 year old since her mother died in December. Joan suffers from depression, high blood pressure, diabetes and arthritis. The Family Center (TFC), which specializes in working with Grandparents raising grandchildren, worked with Joan to assist her in drafting her own will naming a caregiver for her grandchildren in the event she is no longer able to care for them. In the process of drafting the will, Joan disclosed that she had a difficult time raising her own children when they became teenagers striving for more independence. She is fearful of reliving these same experiences with the raising of her grandchildren. TFC staff has helped Joan deal with her feelings of failure while developing a plan for the children should her health prevent her from continuing as the primary caregiver.