法律資訊

生存信托

生存信託有兩類:可廢除及不可廢除。

可廢除的生存信託可以由授予者〈創作者〉在任何時候取消信託的整份或部份。建立可廢除生存信托者可避免遺囑認證,律師費及法庭費用。此類的可廢除的生存信託也可避免額外的遺囑認證 ,如授予者在多個州內擁有物業。可廢除的生存信託也是一個十分有用的管理工具如果授予者失去自決能力。也可減去及避免成立監護權的費用及手續。

如某人資產不多,那麼遺囑認證的費用將會是十分低。所以不需要使用可廢除的生存信託。如果個人資產內主要部份是無需遺產認證的資產,如聯合擁有的物業、個人退休帳戶(IRAs) ,延稅年金(TDAs) ,等,也不需要 使用可廢除的生存信託。

注: 可廢除的生存信託,一般並不是用來減少收入的工具、資產或贈與稅,亦無助於保護財產及幫助申請醫療補助計劃和其它有資產及收入限制的福利。

不可廢除的生存信託不可由授予者取消,同時授予者也不可以是委託人。另外,此信託還可以幫助避免遺囑認證程序及費用,以及在某些情況下保護受護者資產不受損失。例如,受護人如有 成立不可廢除的生存信託,即使信託的財產超過限制,還是可以符合資格使用醫療補助計劃福利,在接受此福利的護養院和日間照護服務接受相關照護服務。不可廢除的生存信託也可用來成立信託給孩子、孫兒及其他人仕。

Legal Information

The Living Trust

There are two types of living trusts: revocable and irrevocable.

A revocable living trust can be revoked by the grantor (creator) of the trust at any time in whole or in part. One establishes a revocable living trust to avoid probate and the ensuing costs of attorney and court fees. Such a revocable trust may avoid additional probate procedures when the grantor owns property in more than one state. A revocable living trust is useful as a management tool in the event that the grantor becomes incapacitated. It may then help preclude the expense and effort of establishing a guardianship.

Revocable trusts may not be necessary if the estate is small because probate costs will be low. Revocable living trusts are also not necessary if the individual's estate substantially consists of non-probate assets such as jointly held property, Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), Tax Deferred Annuities (TDAs), etc.

Note: Revocable living trusts generally are not devices for reducing income, estate or gift taxes, nor will they help in protecting assets for the purpose of qualifying for Medicaid and other such programs with limits on the resources and income of the recipient.

An irrevocable living trust cannot be revoked by the grantor, and the grantor cannot be the trustee. The trust not only avoids probate but is a vehicle for protecting assets while qualifying for Medicaid coverage for nursing homes and home care, adult day care services etc. An irrevocable living trust is also used for establishing a trust for a child, grandchild or other persons.