法律資訊

擬定遺囑

遺囑是一個法律上的聲明,一個人可以通過擬定遺囑表明在他去世後如何處理其遺產的意願。不論其資產有多少,個人不應自己草擬遺囑。遺囑的草擬應由律師執行。

透過遺囑,個人 可以指定如何將他們的財產分配給親戚、朋友,和慈善機構。每個人也應對他們死後的財產分配絕對謹慎。

然而,有例外。這就是如果某人與配偶沒有子女,在此人去世後,其配偶可獲起碼二份之一的財產。如果某人與配偶有一個或一個以上的子女,那麼配偶可獲至少三分之一的財產。如果過身者所留下的財產十分之多,生存的配偶可將分配所得的財產安置在信託戶口。

在遺囑中,過世者可將財產以金額或百分比額來分配給相關人仕或同時使用兩個分配方法。例如,給每一個孫子$5,000 元,餘額之二分之一給妻子和另半以相等的份額給他( 她) 的孩子們。

在遺囑中,過身者會指定一遺囑執行者來收集, 執行和分配遺產。執行者也許是親戚、朋友、或如果遺產數額巨大, 可委託銀行或信託公司執行遺囑。執行者將會選擇律師去實行遺囑所擬定的各條例。

實行遺囑的代表律師將會以法律執行者的角色,向法院索取遺囑財產授權信件。在執行者收到該信後,所有銀行,經紀和財務公司便可依囑將去世者遺產正式納入執行者的名下。

隨後,執行者,在支付一切葬禮費用,債務和稅( 若有) 以後,將跟據去世者在遺囑中所述的意願,把財產分配給相關人仕。

不少人以為即使某人沒有立遺囑,在他( 她) 去世後,依然可以將遺產自動納入配偶及兒女的名下。但這並不是完全正確。如果沒有遺囑去明確指示財產的分配,配偶或兒女可能會得到比你期望的要少的財產。因此,擬定遺囑是為保障親人在你去世後的財產利益 而必不可少的關鍵法律步驟。

某些人想省錢,嘗試由自己草擬遺囑。不幸地,一份草擬得很差的遺囑將會為 你 帶來更多問題,比沒有遺囑更差!

Legal Information

The Making of a Will

A Will is a legal declaration of how a person wishes their possessions to be disposed of after death. A Will should be drafted by an attorney. No person should draft their own Will no matter how small their assets.

By a Will a person directs how their property shall be distributed among relatives, friends, and charities. Every person has absolute discretion how and to whom their property shall be distributed after death.

There is however one exception. A person who dies leaving a surviving spouse must leave to such spouse at least one-half of their net estate if there are no children or at least one-third if there are one or more children. If the decedent's estate is substantial, the surviving spouse's share may be placed in a trust.

In the Will, the decedent may distribute the estate either in dollar amounts or in percentage shares or by using both methods. For example, $5,000 to each grandchild and of the remaining amount, "one-half to my wife and one half in equal shares among my children."

In their Will, the decedent will name an executor to collect, administer and distribute the estate. The executor may be a relative, friend, or if the estate is substantial, a bank or trust company. The executor will select an attorney to "probate" the Will.

To probate a Will, the attorney, in the name of the executor, will petition the court for letters testamentary. After the executor receives such letters, all banks, brokers and companies in which the decedent owned stocks will transfer the assets into the name of the executor.

In turn, the executor, after paying funeral expenses, debts and taxes (if any), will distribute to the persons named by the decedent their shares in the amounts provided in the Will.

Many people believe that if you die without making a Will your assets and personal belongings will automatically go to your wife, partner or children. However, this is only partially true. They may actually get less than you hoped because of the laws governing estates. Making a Will, therefore, is an essential step if you want to make sure that your estate is distributed in the way you actually want after your death, and by the executor of your choice.

Some people try to save money by writing their Will themselves. Unfortunately, a badly written Will can cause more problems than having no Will at all!