法律資訊

永久授權書

永久授權書是其中一種由律師力薦給客戶 的授權管理個人事務的重要法律工具。不僅可以有效幫助受護者處理有關財產的分配,還可以處理醫療保補助計劃及其他福利方案的有關問題。

當授權人簽署永久授權書後,受委托的便有權代表授權人處理其財產和其他事務。雖然受委托人的權力廣泛,但應注意,有關遺囑的事項是不適合受委托人獨自處理的,例如,擬定或修改遺囑等事情。

永久授權書可以是“一般”永久授權書,受委托人可以代表管理財務及任何其他事務,或“有限”永久授權書,當中受托人可擁有一項或多項的特別指定權力例如在特定時間,出售指定物業給指定買主。

每位授權人可授權給一位或多位的委托人在“共同”或“獨立”( 只需指定委托人的簽名) 的情形下履行責任。

“永久”授權書有別於一般的授權書,它不會因授權人失去自決能力或在時間變動而失效。保証了受托人的永久權力。

在草擬永久授權書時,應特別留意,在授與權力時的每個細節,避免因遺漏,疏忽而被法院提出質疑有關委托權力的可行性;因而對授權人利益造成不必要的嚴重損 失。

用來管理資產的永久授權書對於一些擁有一定的資產而身體有嚴重病患及傷殘人士特別有用,因 為有了該文件後,信託理財服務或監護人將不得介入處理授權的資產和其他事務。

永久授權書的最大好處,在其失去自決能力後依然有效。受委託人可在受護者失去自決能力後便馬上處理其資產和其他不同的事宜,而不需要通過昂貴及 漫長的法律程序去申請監護權及被授權有關權力。

在美國的幾個州內,法例允許受護者使用永久授權書委託他人處理財務之外,也可以同時關顧自己的 醫療需要。然而在紐約州,醫療永久授權書或醫療護理委託書是必須是分開的文件。

Legal Information

Durable Power of Attorney

The "durable power-of-attorney" is one of the most powerful planning tools that an attorney can recommend to a client, not only for estate planning, but also for Medicaid and other entitlement programs.

When a person (the principal) signs a power-of-attorney, he gives another person (the agent) the power to act in his place and on his behalf in managing his assets and affairs. The agent's powers may be broad and sweeping so as to include almost any act which the principal might have performed. It should be noted, however, that, in general, acts which are inherently testamentary in nature, such as the authority to make or revoke a will, may not be performed by an agent.

A power-of-attorney can be either a "general" power-of-attorney, where the agent may perform almost any act the principal might have performed himself regarding the financial management of his affairs, or a "limited" power-of-attorney where the agent has one or more specific powers, such as the power to sell a particular property to a particular purchaser at a particular time.

A single principal may name one or more agents who can be authorized to act either "jointly" or "severally" (alone without the signature of the other agent or agents).

The "durable" power-of-attorney is unlike the ordinary power-of-attorney in that it does not become inoperative upon the incapacity of the principal. The durable power-of-attorney provides that those powers granted to the agent will not be affected by the subsequent disability or incapacity of the principal or by the lapse of time.

In drafting powers-of-attorney, care should be given to confer powers with as much specificity as possible in order to avoid the possibility of a court construing a specific omission as an intent to fail to grant that specific power. Such an adverse finding could be a serious detriment to the principal's assets.

The power-of-attorney for asset management in the case of a seriously ill or disabled person is especially useful in situations where the person's assets may be modest and, accordingly, do not warrant the expense associated with other planning techniques such as trusts or guardianships.

The great advantage of the durable power-of-attorney is that it remains effective after the principal's incapacity. The agent, therefore, can act immediately upon the principal's incapacity to manage his assets or to take various measures without initiating costly and time-consuming guardianship proceedings to obtain the court's authorization for such transactions.

In a few states, the principal is allowed to delegate to the agent in the durable power-of-attorney various health care powers in addition to control over financial matters. In New York State, however, a health care power-of-attorney or proxy must be a separate document from a power-of-attorney.