法律資訊

遺產計劃

以下是擬定遺產計劃的四個重要部份。這是絕對必要地讓受照護者還可以有能力自主時,準備並擬定遺產計劃及有關文件,在以下的解釋中,受照護者會被稱為受權人及提出擬定有關的法律文件。

  • 永久授權書: 這一文件指定受權委托人處理你的財務事宜。這個文件將防止在你失去自決能力後由法庭任命監護人處理你的事宜。 授權書的類型各有不同。你需要諮詢老人法律律師,找出最適合你的那一種。
  • 醫療護理委託書和生前遺囑: 這個文件允許你受權你信任的人,例如,家庭成員或親密的朋友,在你失去自決能力時,為你作出醫療保健的決定。當 授權醫療保健代理人時,請與他們溝通, 談論在你臨終前你所希望得到的照護,如使用人工營養和使用喉管餵養。
  • 遺囑: 這個法律文件會將照你的意願,指定你財產的分配,包括債務的付款,財產的發配,和財產管理。
  • 生存信托: 這個文件容許個人在去世後,將財產傳給其家人,朋友和其他人,但不同於遺囑, 其資產被安置在生存信託,以避免遺囑的認證手續。

Legal Information

Estate Planning

There are four basic tools of estate planning. It is imperative to have these documents executed by the care recipient, while they are legally competent. The explanations that follow refer to the care receiver as the principal, that is, the one seeking these documents.

  • Durable Power of Attorney: With this document an agent(s) is appointed to manage your financial affairs. This document will prevent the need for a court-appointed guardian to manage your affairs should you become cognitively incapacitated. There are different types of powers of attorney. It is important to speak with an Elder Law Attorney to see which one is best for you.
  • Health Care Proxy and Living Wills: This document allows you to appoint someone you trust, for example, a family member or close friend, to make health care decisions for you should you become incapacitated. When appointing a health care agent, speak with them about the type of care you want at the end of life care such as artificial nutrition and hydration (tube feedings).
  • Will: In this legal document you direct the affairs of your estate, including payment of debts, the distribution of assets, and estate management.
  • Living Trust: This document enables a person to pass property after death to family, friends and others, but unlike a will, the property placed in a living trust avoids probate.