尋找幫助

其它社區服務- 護養院舍

作出決定

常常,因為家人的身體功能大不如前,便認為應當住進護養院舍。事實上並不如此。社區中有很多資源服務可以幫助受護者留家治療,不需要住進護養院。在家照護服務及成人日間服務便是其中特別有用的資源。

有很多的因素引致家人決定把受護者送進護養院。例如,受護者的身體行動越來越不便,需要照顧者更多的幫助,照顧者感到壓力重重,力不從心,與及缺乏社交活動等。 例如,在受護者有盤骨破碎或中風後。提供短期復健醫療服務,康復後便可回家。護養院舍越來越多被用作復健的用途。

如果情況 允許,讓受護者參與決定是否入住護養院的過程。要知道受護者在家中得到的關注及照護不一定能在護養院中獲得。萬一真得選擇住進護養院,最好與護養院的照護人員保持聯繫及良好關 係,令受護人可得到合宜的照護。

申請過程

如決定為受護者挑選護養院,你可以嘗試參觀和訪問幾家離你家較近的護養院,對比後再作決定。你可在電話上要求安排參觀。請帶備兩份表格:病人狀況評估表格 (Patient Review Instrument , PRI) 和甄選問卷(Screen) 。

病人狀況評估表格(PRI) 由註冊護士填寫 ( 醫院、探訪護士服務, 或社區中的註冊護士負責) ,告訴護養院舍你的家庭成員需要那一類的服務,如沐浴、穿衣、餵食、到衛生間、和移動,並且是否有語言、身體,或感知上的障礙。

甄選問卷(Screen) 討論住院後回家的可能性,以及現在正接受的物理,職業治療,和是否有精神病或低智力的問題以致有特別服務上的需要。

登記入院職員將告訴你需要的文件。一般而言,需要個人證明文件和財務紀錄。

因為護養院舍的費用是相當昂貴的,常常有需要申請醫療補助計劃(Medicaid)

在你參觀護養院舍時應留意以下的一些情況:

  • 護養院乾淨嗎?
  • 整個設施有氣味嗎?
  • 院舍住宿者有梳洗穿著好嗎?
  • 房間的氣氛是快樂或是沉悶的?
  • 多數的宿者已起床嗎?
  • 在房間內的權利,不同的房間,宿者是否有放置他們的私人物品如相片?
  • 職員是否真正關心宿者?
  • 職員與宿者的相互間的相處?
  • 如你有機會參觀餐食,食物看起來開胃嗎?
  • 那些需要餵食的是否得到幫助?
  • 職員是否只顧自己談話,還是也與宿者談話?
  • 有什麼可參與的活動?
  • 詢問你可否觀察某一項活動?

尋找護養院舍

點擊你現在正居住的區域,尋找在你本區所有的護養院舍。需要更多的資料,請與FRIA ( 住院長者親友協會) 聯繫。請運用此網站 www.fria.org 或致電311 並向老人局主辦的老人癡呆症及長期護理部查詢詳情。

Getting help

Other Community-based Services - Nursing Home

Making the decision
Sometimes, people think that because their family member is not functioning as they once did that it automatically means it’s time to move to the nursing home. The fact is, that’s not always the case. There are many resources in your area that can help keep your family member home for as long as possible before a nursing home becomes necessary. Home care and adult day services are two such examples of particularly useful resources.

The decision to move to a nursing home can be precipitated by many factors. The ever-increasing need for assistance in physical care, coupled with your own depleting stores of energy and patience are very real considerations, as are limited opportunities for socialization. Nursing homes are utilized more and more for rehab as the care recipient who suffered a fractured hip or stroke regains strength and mobility. In many of these instances, the individual returns home after a short stay.

Insofar as possible, involve the care recipient in the decision-making process. It is a family affair, one that touches everyone. Be aware that the individualized attention the care recipient has received at home will be difficult to duplicate in a nursing home. Staying involved with the nursing home care team will ensure that your family member continues to receive optimum care.

The application process
Once it’s clear that your care receiver needs more care, identify several nursing homes in the area near your home. This will make it easier for you to visit. Call their Admissions Office and ask to schedule a tour. Bring with you two forms: the PRI (Patient Review Instrument) and the Screen.

Completed by an RN (from the hospital, the Visiting Nurse Service, or certified RNs in the community), the PRI tells the nursing home what kind of care your family member will require with such areas as bathing, dressing, eating, toileting, and transferring, and if there are verbal, physical, or perceptual disturbances.

The Screen addresses the possibility of returning home after a hospital discharge, any physical or occupational therapy being received, and any mental illness or retardation that may require special services.

The Admissions staff will tell you which documents will be needed to complete the application process. Generally speaking, these documents regard personal identification and financial records.

As nursing home costs are quite expensive, know that it often becomes necessary for most individuals to apply for Medicaid.

On your tour of the nursing home, look for the following:

  • is the facility clean?
  • is there an odor throughout the facility?
  • are the residents groomed and dressed?
  • are the rooms cheerful or depressing?
  • are the majority of residents out of bed?
  • do the individual rooms have the resident’s personal items such as pictures displayed?
  • does the staff seem to be genuinely interested in the residents?
  • how do they interact with the residents?
  • if you observe a meal, does the food look appetizing?
  • are those who need assistance with eating being helped?
  • are the staff talking among themselves or with the residents?
  • what are the available activities?
  • ask if you can observe an activity.

Locate a nursing home
Click on your borough for a listing of nursing homes in your area. For more information on these facilities, contact FRIA (Friends and Relatives of the Institutionalized Aged) at www.fria.org or the Alzheimer’s & LTC Unit at the Dept for the Aging (212 442-3086).