護理照料

護理照料要訣…

  • 您所照顧的是成年人。 除非受照顧者有嚴重的智障問題,否則,他是有權為自己作出決定 的。
  • 提供選擇。 受照顧者有權為自己作決擇。雖然,受照顧者的健康及身體狀況會給他( 她) 帶來挑戰,但如果情況許可,請容許受照顧者為自己作出決定。
  • 我們應盡量鼓勵受照顧者獨立自助。 儘管受照顧者會花較長時間完成一些日常生活雜項,照顧者還是要耐心地支持他們。盡量只幫助受照顧者完成他們做不了的事情。
  • 照顧您自己。 工作,家庭,育兒,學校,課外活動,加上護理照料家人,將會給你造成很大的壓力。請給自己一個喘息的機會,接受他人的幫助,健康飲食,充足休息及運動都可以幫助減壓,重獲美好人生。
  • 靈活地應用你家人可給你的幫助。 照顧患者,可能因壓力大而給你帶來情緒上的負面沖擊。請讓其他家人知道你的苦惱與感受。接受願意提供幫助的家人的支持,和他們一起各盡所長,照顧患者。
好好運用社區中的資源。 它們是為您而設的,令您在為家人提供護理照料時事半功倍,得心應手。

Caregiving

Caregiving Tips.

  • The person you care for is an adult. Unless there is significant cognitive impairment, the care receiver has the right to make decisions about their life.
  • Offer choices. The ability to choose is a basic freedom. Recognizing that health and financial constraints can create challenges to caregiving, permit choice whenever possible.
  • Provide help only with those things that your care receiver cannot do. Oftentimes, caregivers will perform a task because it's ‘easier' or ‘quicker'. While the activity, such as dressing, may take a little while longer, it is important to encourage and support the independence of the care receiver.
  • Take care of yourself. Job, family, children, school, extracurricular activities, PLUS caregiving creates tremendous strain. It's important to eat properly and get enough rest and exercise. Speak to family and friends to help schedule yourself a break.
  • Your family is your first resource. There can be deep emotional currents when serious or prolonged illness occurs. Some family members will want to help with everything, others may need to be asked, and others will not want to become part of the caregiving at all. Have a family meeting to discuss the care needs and what you're feeling. Work toward including everyone's help with the caregiving and develop a schedule of care.
  • Use the resources in your community. They're there for you, to make it easier for you to care for your family member.