
 

Registration + Maintenance 
of Cooling Towers   

DOHMH Compliance 

If an evaluation or test indicates 

microbial levels  signifying a 

maintenance deficiency that requires 

mitigation, building owners are 

responsible for notifying DOHMH, 

cleaning and disinfecting the tower in 

accordance with § 17-194.1 . 

New York City Department of Buildings 

280 Broadway 

New York, NY 10007 

 

Phone: 212-393-2550 

Website: nyc.gov/buildings 

Register Cooling Towers at             

nyc.gov/dob/coolingtowers 

Find Additional Resources at nyc.gov. 

View the DOHMH Commissioner’s Order 

at  nyc.gov/coolingtowers 

2014 Construction Codes § 28-317  

NYC Administrative Code  § 17-194.1  

http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:


What is a Cooling Tower? 

‘Cooling tower’ refers to a cooling tower, 

evaporative condenser or fluid cooler that is 

part of a recirculated water system 

incorporated into a building’s cooling, 

industrial process, refrigeration or energy 

production system.   

Department of Buildings (DOB) 
Registration  

Building owners are required by law to 

register their cooling towers.  Visit 

nyc.gov/dob/coolingtowers and follow 

the Cooling Tower Registration link .  

Once enrolled, each registrant may 

report multiple towers or locations.   

You may also upload  documentation 

indicating proof of remediation. 

DOHMH Provisions 

The following  mandates ensure adherence to 

industry standards for cooling tower maintenance, 

cleaning and testing for microbes, and reporting 

to DOHMH samples that present a serious health 

threat.   

Maintenance Program Requirements 

Owners are required to institute and follow a 

maintenance program and plan, developed by a 

qualified person, in accordance with the American 

Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-

conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE 188-2015) 

standard.  Additionally,  cooling towers that have 

been shut down for more than five days must be 

cleaned and disinfected within 15 days before 

initial use.  

Inspection and Testing of Cooling Towers 

Towers are to be inspected and tested every three 

months while a building’s cooling tower is in use.     

Inspection Method 

An evaluation for the presence of organic 
material, biofilm, algae and other visible 
contaminants; 

 

A test for the presence of microbes in the water 
of the cooling tower. 

 
All required inspections, cleaning and disinfection are to 

be performed by  or under the supervision of a qualified 

person.   Targets and acceptable testing, analysis and 

microbial levels that require immediate action and 

reporting will be established by DOHMH.   DOHMH will 

also define the credentials required for consideration as  a 

‘qualified’ person. 

Cooling Tower Regulations 

In accordance with the Local Law 77, which became 
effective August 18, 2015, owners and operators of 
cooling towers are required to do the following.   
 
Registration 
 

Cooling towers must be registered with DOB prior 
to initial operation. 

Existing cooling towers must be registered with 
DOB within 30 days of the law’s enactment. 

Annual Certification 

Owners or operators are required to annually certify 

that cooling towers have been inspected, tested, 

cleaned and disinfected in compliance with § 17-

194.1 of  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 

(DOHMH) regulations.  

Inspection 

Inspection, testing, cleaning and disinfection of 

cooling towers must be performed in accordance 

with DOHMH regulations. 

Discontinuance of Use 

If a cooling tower is removed or its use is 

permanently discontinued, the owner or operator 

must notify DOB within 30 days after removal/

discontinuation.  The notice must include a 

statement that the cooling tower was drained and 

sanitized in compliance with DOHMH requirements. 

Enforcement 

Failure to register, submit annual certification or 

report discontinued use is a major violation 

punishable by a penalty of up to $10,000. 
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