Public Design Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Printer Firendly Format

  Follow us: Tumblr Flickr
Get Adobe PDF Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader
  (required to view PDFs)

City Hall Website Pre-Visit Guide

The Office of the Mayor

New York City voters citywide elect the Mayor, Comptroller, and the Public Advocate every four years.  At the same time, the residents of each borough elect a Borough President and in each district a City Council representative.

The Mayor works in City Hall along with his appointed Deputy Mayors.  He is the chief executive of the city and is responsible for its operation, for developing policy, and proposing the city's budget.

City Council

The City Council is the representative legislative branch of local government.  The 51 members of the City Council, one of whom is the member-elected Speaker or operational head, meet in the Council Chamber at City Hall twice a month for stated meetings and individually serve on various committees that meet at other times.  The Council passes the city's local laws and budgets, reviews land-use matters, and is responsible for the oversight of all city agencies and programs. All meetings are open to the public, and public testimony is sought at hearings.

Part IV Activities:

1. Write a piece of legislation and act out how a bill becomes a law.

2. Write a letter informing your Council Member of your visit.

3. Find an article in the newspaper about a current event concerning the Mayor
    or the City Council.