Public Design Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Printer Firendly Format

Get Adobe PDF Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader
  (required to view PDFs)

2012 Design Awards

Design Award Recipients 2012

Beach Access Restoration, Phase I

Beach Access Restoration, Phase I Beach Access Restoration, Phase I Beach Access Restoration, Phase I

Brighton Beach and Coney Island Beach, Brooklyn; Rockaway Beach, Queens;
Midland Beach, Cedar Grove Beach, and Wolfe’s Pond Park Beach, Staten Island
A Project of the Department of Parks & Recreation and the Department of Design and Construction
McLaren Engineering Group
Garrison Architects
LTL Architects
Sage and Coombe Architects
Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects

In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, the city’s beaches lay devastated with boardwalks and piers stripped of decking, flooded service and concession buildings, scattered debris, and erosion. With the exhaustive emergency clean-up complete, beach access was restored on May 24, 2013 in time for the summer season. Reopened beaches include sleek modular restrooms and lifeguard stations elevated above the 500-year floodplain, restored boardwalk oases replete with shade structures and brightly colored supergraphics, native beach plantings, and a cheerful wayfinding signage program. Opening later in the season, Steeplechase Pier will feature recycled plastic lumber decking, integrated seating, shade structures, and an observation platform. Phase II will build upon the coastal protection and resiliency to fully restore the city’s beaches.

Design Team

McLaren Engineering Group
Malcolm G. McLaren PE, President & Chief Executive Officer; Steven L. Grogg PE, Vice President & Site/Civil Division Chief; Thomas Broderick, Division Chief – Structures; Luke Daur, Senior Engineer; Nathan Shuman, Senior Engineer; John Speer, Senior Engineer; Dominic DeSantis, Staff Engineer; Curtis Nordin, Staff Engineer; Jon Skinner, Staff Engineer

Garrison Architects
James Garrison, Principal; Chris Anastos, Principal; Marina Soluvchuk, Principal; Sal Tranchina, Senior Associate; Jason Buchheit, Project Architect; Dan Lashmore, Project Representative; Maria Escalera, Senior Designer; Marisa Ferrara, Senior Designer

LTL Architects
Paul Lewis, Principal; Marc Tsurumaki, Principal; Kristen Alexander, Project Manager

Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects
Kim Mathews, Principal; Signe Nielsen, Principal; Dan Yannaccone, Senior Landscape Architect; B. Chatfield, Landscape Architect; Heather Fuhrman, Landscape Designer

Sage and Coombe Architects
Jenifer Sage, Principal; Peter Coombe, Principal; Kit Yan, Project Manager; Sam Loring, Project Architect; Allen Slamic, Project Designer; Christo Logan, Senior Designer

Paula Scher, Principal; Courtney Gooch, Designer

OLA Consulting Engineers
Patrick F. Lynch P.E., President; Steven Abbattista PE, Principal; Daniel Smith PE, Associate; Scott Ziegler PE, Senior Engineer

Sabir, Richardson & Weisberg
Cappy Sabir, Principal; Yvette Richardson, Principal; Orah Weisberg, Principal; Mike Almon, Associate Principal; Richard Franklin, Associate Principal; Ed Sabir, Associate Principal

Department of Parks & Recreation
Veronica M. White, Commissioner; Thérèse Braddick, Deputy Commissioner for Capital Projects; Kevin Jeffrey, Brooklyn Borough Commissioner; Dorothy Lewandowski, Queens Borough Commissioner; Adena Long, Staten Island Borough Commissioner; Diane Jackier, Chief of Staff for Capital Projects; Laura Prussin, Deputy Chief of Staff for Capital Projects; Kevin Quinn RA, Director of Architecture; Angelyn Chandler RA, Capital Program Manager; Nathan Tinclair, Senior Project Manager; Jordan Smith, Senior Project Manager; Tara Valenta, Design Project Manager; George Kroenert, Construction Project Manager; Michael Azzollini, Associate Project Manager; Todd Mitchell, Landscape Architect; Greg Losapio, Assistant Landscape Architect; Elizabeth Jordan, Landscape Architect; Amie Uhrynowski, Design Commission Liaison

Department of Design and Construction
David J. Burney FAIA, Commissioner; David A. Resnick AIA, Deputy Commissioner; Frank D’Arpino, Associate Commissioner; Eric Boorstyn AIA LEED AP, Associate Commissioner; Michael Nastasi, Assistant Commissioner; Faith Rose RA, Senior Design Liaison & Design Commission Liaison; Anthony Romeo RA, Program Director; Roberto Petruccelli, Deputy Program Director; Mike Kenny, Deputy Director, Libraries/Human Services Public Buildings; Charlie Jimenez Hernandez, Administrative Construction Project Manager; Robert Egbert, Administrative Project Manager; Alex Shnaper, Senior Project Manager; Michael Mendelewski, Senior Project Manager 

Public Tours
City Hall
City Hall Tour
Tweed Court House
Tweed Courthouse Tour
Gracie Mansion
Gracie Mansion Tour