Public Design Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Art Commission of the City of New York
Printer Firendly Format

  Follow us: Tumblr Flickr
Get Adobe PDF Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader
  (required to view PDFs)


The Design Commission is composed of an architect, a landscape architect, a painter, a sculptor and three lay members, all of whom are nominated by the Fine Arts Federation (an arts consortium) and appointed by the Mayor. The Commission also includes a representative of the Brooklyn Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the New York Public Library and the Mayor. All Commission members serve pro bono. The President and other officers of the Commission are elected by its members.

Visit the Fine Arts Federation


Signe Nielsen, President, Landscape Architect
Philip E. Aarons, Vice President, Lay Member
Mahnaz Ispahani Bartos, The New York Public Library
Maria Elena González, Sculptor
Otis Pratt Pearsall, Brooklyn Museum
James Stewart Polshek, Architect
Paula Scher, Lay Member
Ethel Sheffer, Mayor's Representative
Ann G. Tenenbaum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Hank Willis Thomas, Painter

Faith Rose, Executive Director
Keri Butler, Director of Art & Conservation
Alicia West, Director of Capital Projects
Julianna Monjeau, Manager of Archives & Special Collections
Tom Campbell, Capital Projects Manager
Aly DesRochers, Manager of Public Programs

See the complete list of Design Commission members from 1898 to the present
Design Awards View Last Year's Winning Projects City Hall Dome City Hall Tours Tweed Court House Tweed Courthouse Tours George Washington Portrait City Hall Portrait Collection Frank Cousins Photograph Frank Cousins Collection