NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
NYC Administration for Children's Services: The City's child welfare agency, dedicated to protecting children and strengthening families
Search































Newsletter

Be a Juvenile Counselor, Apply TODAY!

Juvenile Counselors work in secure detention facilities that are operated by the City of New York’s Administration for Children’s Services. Juvenile Counselors provide custody, supervision, direct care, and counseling to youth between the ages 10 and 16 detained by the Family and Criminal Courts in New York. This position, working with challenging youth, requires a strong sense of commitment, integrity, and resilience.

To Be a Juvenile Counselor

Applicants MUST take the Juvenile Counselor Exam in June 2014 to qualify for the position. The exam will be

This exam will be administered at the DCAS computerized Testing Centers located in:

Brooklyn:           210 Joralemon Street, 4th Floor, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Manhattan:        2 Lafayette Street, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10007

Filing/Test Dates:

Monday, June 2 – 5:00  P.M.

Manhattan & Brooklyn

Tuesday, June 3 – 9:30 A.M.

Manhattan only

Thursday, June 5 – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan only

Saturday, June 7 – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan only

Monday, June 9 – 5:00 P.M.

Manhattan only

Tuesday, June 10 – 9:30 A.M.

Manhattan only

Thursday, June 12 – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan only

Monday, June 1 – 5:00 P.M.

Manhattan only

Tuesday, June 17 – 9:30 A.M.

Manhattan only

Thursday, June 19 – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan only

Monday, June 23 – 5:00 P.M.

Manhattan & Brooklyn

Thursday, June 26  – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan & Brooklyn

Saturday, June 28 – 1:30 P.M.

Manhattan & Brooklyn

Monday, June 30 – 5:00 P.M.

Manhattan & Brooklyn


Please visit the DCAS website for more information on this exam.

 

If you are interested, please send your resume to:
JCRECRUITMENT@acs.nyc.gov 

Additional Qualification Requirements

  1. A Bachelors’ Degree from an accredited college or; 
  2. An Associate’s Degree or 60 college credits, plus two years of full-time experience working directly with juveniles (ages 10-18) in a group, community, educational, or institutional setting, or with developmentally disabled adults or adolescents (age 10 & up) or;
  3. A high school diploma or its educational equivalent, plus four years full-time satisfactory experience as described above in #2, or;
  4. A combination of education and/or experience equivalent to #1, #2 or #3 above. Experience may be substituted on the basis of one year of experience equaling 30 college credits.