NYC Resources 311 Office of the Mayor
NYC Administration for Children's Services: The City's child welfare agency, dedicated to protecting children and strengthening families


ACS Installs Newly Elected Head Start Policy Council Delegates

On Friday, April 19, 2013, Deputy Commissioner Myung J. Lee Division of Early Care and Education (ECE) presided over the installation of newly elected delegates to the Head Start Policy Council in a ceremony held at the Downtown Marriot in Lower Manhattan. At the event, 19 delegates and 16 alternates were sworn in as members of the Council. New York City’s Head Start super grantee, administers contracts with 88 providers to provide Head Start services citywide. In accordance with Head Start legislation, each grantee is required to establish a Policy Council and a governing body.

 Newly Elected Head Start Policy Council Delegates

Speaking at the installation, Deputy Commissioner Lee thanked the delegates for accepting their new roles. “ACS is grateful for this partnership with the Head Start Parents Policy Council and we will do our best to further strengthen that partnership,” she said. “We will also work together to support our parents and families because we know that they play the most important role in our children’s lives.”

Guest speaker, Dr. Geoffrey Canada, who delivered the keynote address, challenged the audience to take responsibility for the future of our children. “We are all responsible for our children, if they fail we fail, “he stated. The delegates and their guests also heard inspiring words from Reverend Dr. Alfonso Wyatt, retired Vice President of The Fund for the City of New York, who gave the invocation to start the ceremony. Dr. Wyatt offered to work with the men on the Council to help them fulfill their roles as parents and as Policy Council members.

The delegates and alternates were sworn in by ECE Director of Program Governance, Miranda L. Harrison, and received their certificates from Ayleen Guzman, Assistant Commissioner, ECE and Diane Black Greene, ECE Director of Family Engagement. ECE Associate Commissioner, Maria Benejan also witnessed the swearing in of the delegates.

The Head Start Policy Council is composed of both Area and Community Representatives. Area Representatives are parents of children currently enrolled in the Head Start program who represent a geographical area that contains one or more delegate agencies. The Policy Council is responsible for the oversight of quality services for Head Start children and families and for making decisions related to program design and implementation. Policy Council /members must be elected annually by the parents of children who are currently enrolled in the Head Start program of the Head Start agency, and serve no more than three years. ACS currently works with over 900 delegate agencies citywide.

Contact: ACS Office of Communications, (212) 341-0999.

Site Map